Becoming a Kansas real estate broker is a strong step forward in your career. Not only does this advanced license look great on a resume, it also allows you to work independently, open real estate brokerage firms, and manage other agents within these firms.
Getting the Kansas Real Estate Broker License is a fairly simple process, but it does require you to complete five steps, and have a few prerequisites before applying or taking the broker’s exam.
This guide covers all of these requirements in a simple, easy to understand way that will make it easier for you throughout this process.
Kansas Real Estate Agent vs Real Estate Broker
Kansas offers two different types of real estate license: Sales and Broker.
A sales agent’s license is the initial license that real estate agents get in order to sell real estate.
A broker’s license is an advanced license that allows the license holder to operate at a higher level within real estate businesses in Kansas.
People often confuse sales agents and brokers. A simple way to look at the difference is that holders of the sales agent’s license are called real estate agents, while holders of the broker’s license are called real estate brokers.
Kansas Real Estate Broker License Requirements
First, to be eligible for a real estate broker’s license, you must meet the prerequisites to become a real estate broker in Kansas.
These prerequisites are:
- Must have an active salesperson license for two to three years
- Must have qualifying work experience with a total of 30 points if you’ve been licensed for three years or more or 40 points if you’ve been licensed between two and three years
Kansas has a point value system that measures your qualifying work experience. For example, you will accumulate three points per closed commercial or agricultural land real estate transaction over $1 million, one point per closed transaction for all other real estate transaction types, or maximum of 10 points for transactions with personal interest.
How to Become a Real Estate Broker in Kansas
Once you meet all the requirements listed above, you can follow these five steps to easily help you get your real estate broker license in Kansas.
Step 1: Complete a Kansas Broker Pre-Licensing Course
The first step to getting your real estate broker license in Kansas is to take 900 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses.
Recommended Real Estate Education CourseThe CE Shop is our #1 overall pick for real estate education courses. It offers everything you need for real estate pre- and post-licensing, CE, and exam prep courses across multiple, easy-to-use formats.
The CE Shop
These real estate courses mostly cover the fundamentals of working in real estate and must be completed within one year of your broker’s license application. This requirement is divided into two sections:
The required 60 classroom hours include the following mandatory courses:
- Principles of Real Estate
- Kansas Practice Course
- Kansas Real Estate Fundamentals
- Kansas Law Course
- Kansas Real Estate Management
Your broker pre-license courses don’t end here. To fully satisfy your course requirements, you must take additional 12 credit hours in related qualifying education courses acceptable to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) or approved continuing education (CE) courses.
Note:These approved CE courses that you take as an agent during your agent license renewal build towards that 12-hour requirement.
The approved courses include:
- Kansas Required Core
- Broker Supervision and Escrow Account Management
- Equality and Money in Real Estate
- Fair Housing, Financing, and Legal Agreements
- Making the Sale
- NAR Code of Ethics
- Trust Account & Brokerage Management
- Real Estate Exchange
- Asset Management
- Home Inspection
- Leeds, Taxes, and Foreclosures
- Real Estate Math
- Real Property Ownership and Land Use
- Titles and Records
Kansas offers reciprocity, so if you’re an agent (or broker) in a different state during the previous three years, you might be able to apply for a license provided you submit your experience and points along with your application.
After completing the courses, you must also pass the final broker course exam. The minimum passing grade is 70%. The final pre-license exam is to be supervised by a proctor, whether on-site or online. This is not the same as the state broker exam.
After passing your broker course exam, your pre-license education provider will provide you with your course completion documents. KREC recommends submitting your completion documents directly to email@example.com.
Step 2: Submit a Kansas Broker License Application
Once you meet the broker pre-licensing education requirements and pass the course exam, you can now apply for your license.
To submit your broker license application, you must submit it directly along with supporting documentation to KREC. The application fee is $175.
Submit the license application documents provided by Pearson VUE to KREC along with: Your certificates of completion for the pre-license education
- Broker Experience Pages
- Broker Transaction Log or Sales Detail Report
- Payment of $175 broker license fee
- If applicable, a Nonresident Form, Certification of License History from any state you are currently or formerly licensed in, and an Open Company form if you plan to hold your own license
Step 3: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After submitting your license application, you must have a fingerprint-based background check. You must submit your fingerprints to the Kansas Bureau of Investigations via LiveScan.
The fingerprinting fee is $50 and the background check fee is $60.
To begin the fingerprinting process, you must visit a qualified LiveScan center in Kansas. Then, send your Payment Authorization and Waiver for fingerprinting via email to KREC at firstname.lastname@example.org or via fax to (785) 296-1771.
Once the LiveScan is done, KREC will send your fingerprints in while you will submit your waiver and payment authorization separately.
Note:If you aren’t sure whether you qualify for a real estate broker license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.
Step 4: Pass the Kansas Real Estate Broker Exam
After completing the steps above, you must take the real estate broker licensing exam via Pearson VUE.
The fee for the broker exam is $82.
The exam is divided into two parts: The national and Kansas-specific section. Candidates who are not applying through requirements met in another state (using reciprocity) must pass both the national and Kansas sections.
The passing rate is 70 for the Kansas Real Estate Broker Exam. If a candidate passes one part and fails the other, only the failed part needs to be retaken. You can apply to retake the exam within 24 hours.
Taking an exam prep course provides you helpful tools and materials, such as quizzes and specific state-only practice exams, to increase your chances of passing your broker license exam the first time.
Step 5: Application Review
After passing your broker exam, you will only need to wait for KREC to review and approve your application.
The process should take less than three months. For faster processing times, consider emailing your application directly to the KREC at email@example.com or fax it to (785) 296‐1771 instead of mailing your application.
Now that you’ve successfully passed the broker licensing exam and obtained your license, there are a few things you need to do to keep your broker license active and updated.
Kansas Real Estate Broker License Renewal and CE
In Kansas, you must renew your real estate broker license every two years. The renewal process is not the same for the broker license and sales agent license.
As part of renewing your broker license, you must also complete the CE requirements that include 12 hours of KREC-approved courses and three hours of “Kansas Required Code” as part of the CE requirement.
Kansas Real Estate Broker License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a real estate broker license in Kansas?
The costs of getting a real estate broker license in Kansas can range between $576 and $766.
The cost breakdown is as follows:
Pre-license education courses: $209-$399
Application fee: $175
Fingerprint check: $50
Background check: $60
Broker exam fee: $82
How long does it take to get a real estate broker license?
The steps that typically take the most time when getting a broker license include taking pre-license education courses and exams. The average amount of time to get a broker license is generally three to six months.
What is the difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker?
Real estate agents focus on working with clients on individual real estate transactions, while real estate brokers have more experience with the added responsibility of managing a team of real estate agents or brokerage business.
See our Real Estate Agent vs Broker vs Realtor page for more information.
How much does a real estate broker make?
Real estate brokers get paid just like real estate agents by earning commissions on their agents’ sales. Brokers can also charge the real estate agents they manage with a fixed monthly fee or have the option to earn money on commission sales by helping their own clients buy and sell property. According to Payscale data, brokers earn $61,314 per year in base salary, with anywhere between $10,000 and $147,000 in commissions. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) indicates that the median broker salary is $62,010.
How do I get a job as a real estate broker in Kansas?
Browse through available real estate broker jobs in your area using our StateRequirement Job Board!
KSREC – Kansas Real Estate Commission
Kansas Real Estate Commission
700 SW Jackson St., Suite 404
Topeka, KS 66603
Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:00 am-4:30 pm
Phone: (785) 296-3411
Fax: (785) 296-1771
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More