Becoming a Hawaii real estate broker is a strong step forward in your career. Not only does this advanced license look great on a resume, it also allows you to work independently, open real estate brokerage firms, and manage other agents within these firms.
Getting the Hawaii Real Estate Broker License is a fairly simple process, but it does require you to complete four steps, and have a few prerequisites before applying or taking the broker’s exam.
This guide covers all of these requirements in a simple, easy-to-understand way that will make it easier for you throughout this process.
Hawaii Real Estate Agent vs. Real Estate Broker
Hawaii offers two different types of real estate license: Sales and Broker.
A sales agent’s license is the initial license that real estate agents get in order to sell real estate.
A broker’s license is an advanced license that allows the license holder to operate at a higher level within real estate businesses in Hawaii.
People often confuse sales agents and brokers. A simple way to look at the difference is that holders of the sales agent’s license are called real estate agents, while holders of the broker’s license are called real estate brokers.
Hawaii Real Estate Broker License Requirements
First, to be eligible for a real estate broker’s license, you must meet the prerequisites to become a real estate broker in Hawaii.
These prerequisites are:
- Be a Hawaii resident, US citizen, US National, or be authorized to work in the United States
- Hold an active real estate salesperson license with at least three years of industry experience in the last five years
Note:If you aren’t sure whether you qualify for a real estate broker license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.
How to Become a Real Estate Broker in Hawaii
Once you meet all the requirements listed above, you can follow these four steps to easily help you get your real estate broker license in Hawaii.
Step 1: Complete a Hawaii Broker Pre-Licensing Course
The first step to getting your real estate broker license in Hawaii is to successfully take and pass the 80-hour pre-licensing course. The education section of the Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs (DCCA) provides a list of qualifying educators.
Recommended Real Estate Education CourseThe CE Shop is our #1 overall pick for real estate education courses. It offers everything you need for real estate pre- and post-licensing, CE, and exam prep courses across multiple, easy-to-use formats.
The CE Shop
These real estate courses cover the basic concepts and principles of working in the industry, completing real estate transactions, and broker management. Once the foundation is laid, the coursework dives deeper into the technical aspects of the industry, as well as real estate math and real estate law in Hawaii.
The required 80 hours of qualifying real estate courses include the following topics:
- Introduction to Real Property
- Hawaii Real Estate Commission and Licensing
- Property Disclosures
- Property Titles
- Real Estate Investments
- Closing and Settlements
- Contract Deeds and Property Transfers
- Environmental Deeds
- Public and Private Land Use Laws
- Estate Ownership and Rights
- Federal Real Estate Financing
- Real Estate Lending Requirements
- Property Value and Appraisals
- Real Estate Math
- Risk Management Requirements
- Fair Housing Laws and Consumer Compliance
- Listing Agreements
- Real Estate Agencies and Agency Management
For a complete outline of the required pre-licensing education, visit the DCCA website.
Hawaii does offer reciprocity under the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). If you hold an active real estate license, your industry experience and education may count towards your prerequisites. In most instances, you will only need to take the state-specific portion of the Hawaii broker license exam.
At the end of the broker course, you will be required to take and pass a final examination. The minimum passing grade is 75%. This is not the same as the state broker exam. The purpose of this test is to ensure that you have retained the information and can apply the real estate concepts you’ve learned.
After passing your broker course exam, you will be given a course completion certificate. Retain this paperwork, as you will need it for your broker application and to schedule your examination with PSI. You will have two years to apply for licensure after completing your coursework.
Step 2: Pass the Hawaii Real Estate Broker Exam
After completing the pre-licensing education and passing the end-of-course exam, you will need to take the Hawaii real estate broker licensing exam. This test is administered by PSI.
The Hawaii Broker’s Exam consists of 125 questions divided into two sections. The state-specific section covers Hawaii laws and regulations and consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. The national section has 75 general questions. You will have 240 minutes (four hours) to complete both sections.
You must receive a passing score of 75% or higher to move on to the next phase of licensure..
If you fail one or both parts of the exam, Hawaii allows you to retake the portions you failed. If you’re unable to pass both sections within two years, you must retake the pre-licensing coursework.
To learn more about the exam, PSI provides each applicant with a Candidate Handbook, which includes an outline of the examination. PSI encourages each candidate to review this handbook before scheduling their exam to ensure they have all of the appropriate documentation. They also offer practice tests to help you prepare for the exam.
Note:Before scheduling your exam with PSI, you will need to submit a Broker Experience Certificate Application. Once approved, the DCCA will issue a Broker Experience Certificate. You will also need to furnish a copy of your Hawaii School Completion Certificate.
Taking an exam prep course provides you helpful tools and materials, such as quizzes and specific state-only practice exams, to increase your chances of passing your broker license exam the first time.
Step 3: Submit a Hawaii Broker License Application
Once you’ve met your pre-licensing requirements, you can apply for your Hawaii real estate broker license.
You must submit an Application for License – Real Estate Sole Proprietor by mail or in person to HIREC. The application fee is $65. Fees must be paid upon submission of the application and are payable by check, made payable to Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
The address to mail your application is:
Real Estate Commission
PVL Licensing Branch, DCCA
P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801
The address to hand deliver your application is:
PVL Licensing Branch
335 Merchant St., Rm. 301
Honolulu, HI 96813
Note:Applicants are encouraged to review the application thoroughly to ensure their submissions include all of the required paperwork.
Step 4: Application Review
Now that you’ve submitted your application, taking special care to ensure you provided all necessary paperwork, all that’s left to do is wait for your application to be reviewed and approved.
Application processing times are approximately 10 business days. Applicants are asked not to contact the office to check on their application status.
Now that you’ve successfully passed the broker licensing exam and obtained your license, there are a few things you need to do to keep your broker license active and updated.
Hawaii Real Estate Broker License Renewal and CE
In the state of Hawaii, real estate broker licenses must be renewed every two years. The filing deadline is November 30 of even-numbered years, to make sure processing is complete by the expiration date. All licenses expire on December 31.
Licenses can be renewed online using MyPVL or by paper application. The renewal fee for brokers is $298.
To renew your broker license in Hawaii, you will be required to complete 20 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
Hawaii Real Estate Broker License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a real estate broker license in Hawaii?
The costs of getting a real estate broker license in Hawaii can range between $335 and $525.
The cost breakdown is as follows:
Pre-license education courses: $209-$399
Broker exam fee: $61
Application fee: $65
How long does it take to get a real estate broker license?
The steps that typically take the most time when getting a broker license include taking pre-license education courses and exams. The average amount of time to get a broker license is generally three to six months.
What is the difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker?
Real estate agents focus on working with clients on individual real estate transactions, while real estate brokers have more experience with the added responsibility of managing a team of real estate agents or brokerage business.
See our Real Estate Agent vs Broker vs Realtor page for more information.
How much does a real estate broker make?
Real estate brokers get paid just like real estate agents by earning commissions on their agents’ sales. Brokers can also charge the real estate agents they manage a fixed monthly fee or have the option to earn money on commission by helping their own clients buy and sell property. According to Payscale data, brokers earn $61,314 per year in base salary, with anywhere between $10,000 and $147,000 in commissions. The Bureau of Labor Statistics indicates that the median broker salary is $62,010.
How do I get a job as a real estate broker in Hawaii?
Browse through available real estate broker jobs in your area using our StateRequirement Job Board!
HIDCCA – Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Hawaii Real Estate Branch
King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant St., Rm. 333
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 586-2643
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More