Getting your Florida Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate agent in Florida. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You will still need to take your Florida real estate license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!
This article outlines how to become a real estate agent in Florida in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.
Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online study packages, which come with a money-back-guarantee and flexible pricing.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida
Becoming a real estate agent in Florida is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.
Florida Real Estate License Requirements
The requirements to become a real estate agent in Florida are:
- Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Have a high school diploma or General Education Development (GED)
How to Get Your Real Estate License in Florida
Step 1. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
Within 24 months of application, you must successfully complete 63 hours of pre-licensing instruction from an approved school or provider. The course must cover topics required by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC).
Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs.
Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.
For Florida real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends:
Florida does not require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course.
Similar to the state exam, this test is closed-book and closed-note. You are allowed a basic-function calculator and scratch paper, but no cell phones or outside internet access.
Step 2. Fingerprinting and Background Check
After completing your pre-licensing requirements, the next step is to complete your fingerprinting and background check. The Florida Real Estate Commission requires that all applicants have a background check performed before they can become a licensed real estate sales agent in Florida.
You must submit your fingerprints using a Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE)
approved Livescan Service Provider at least 5 days prior to submitting your application for licensure. This will allow sufficient time for FDLE to process your fingerprints and submit the results. If your fingerprint results are not received by the time your application is being processed, your application will be deemed incomplete.
The total fee charged by each provider varies. Contact your preferred livescan service provider to obtain this information. The fingerprint results are usually received three to five business days after your fingerprints are scanned.
Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The Florida Real Estate Commission will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings.
For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in Florida. If this is the case, your application will be reviewed by the department to ensure that your criminal history will not disqualify you from becoming licensed in that particular profession.
Depending on the type of criminal offense(s), your application might require board review or require your personal appearance before the board. You will be notified in writing of any required appearance before the board.
If you aren’t sure whether you are eligible for a real estate license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.
Step 3. Real Estate License Application
Licensees must submit an application to the Florida Real Estate Commission before attempting to schedule the license exam.
The fee for this application is $83.75.
On The Florida Real Estate Commissions website, you can apply for your Florida Real Estate License. You’ll need to create a log-in profile with the Commission to submit your application. You will receive notice from the Commission when your application is approved. Attached in that notice is a RE Application ID number.
Step 4. Florida Real Estate License Exam
Once your application has been approved by the DRE, Pearson VUE – who handles the real estate exams – will send you an official authorization letter. You will then be eligible to make an examination reservation.
The fee to take the exam is $36.75 per attempt.
The Florida Real Estate Exam consists of 100 questions. You will have 210 minutes (3.5 hours) to complete the entire exam.
A passing score for the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Exam is 75/100.
Immediately after completing your exam, you will receive a scoring document that states whether you passed or failed. If it is marked “Fail,” then you will see a breakdown of your score in the different areas of the exam. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a guide for your studies.
How Hard is the Florida Real Estate Exam
The passing rate for the Florida Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 75%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!
Before taking the exam, check out StateRequirement’s guide on How to Pass the Real Estate Exam. This in-depth guide works as a great partner to your pre-license course to prepare you to pass on your first attempt!
Step 5. Application Review
Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for the Florida Real Estate Commission to issue your license. In most cases, this process should take no more than 10 business days. After this, you should receive an email from the FREC with a license document. You may contact the FREC at (850) 487-1395 or via contact form.
Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!
Step 6. Real Estate License Sponsorship
When you receive your initial Real Estate Sales Associate License in Florida, your license will be in an “inactive” status.
This means that you cannot sell real estate yet. In order to “activate” your license, you must complete a Real Estate Sales Associate Form.
If you don’t have a broker to work with yet, check out StateRequirement Jobs for a real estate salesperson opening in your area.
Florida Post-Licensing Education
Licensees must satisfy the post-licensing education requirement of 45 classroom hours to be eligible for active license status. It must be completed within 18-24 months after obtaining the initial license.
There’s a chance that your pre-license education package came with these post-license courses in the package, so be sure you check before you buy another course.
Check out StateRequirement’s recommended post-license course provider for access to these courses.
FDBPR – Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Florida Real Estate Commission
400 West Robinson Street, N801
Orlando, Florida 32801
Phone: (850) 487-1395
Fax: (850) 488-8040
Email: Contact Form
Florida Real Estate License FAQ
How Much Does it Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?
In Florida, getting a real estate license involves paying for the pre-licensing education, which costs ranging from $127 to $425. All Florida fees (which includes the application fee) costs $150. The total estimated expense for real estate licenses is between $280 and $580. Furthermore, Florida requires post-license education, which may incur extra costs after the initial licensure.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Florida Real Estate License?
Pursuing a real estate career in Florida often involves three to six months of preparation, including pre-license education and studying to pass the Florida real estate exam. With full-time study, these steps can be completed in about two months, but rushing is not advisable. Sufficient study time is key for careful preparation and exam success.
How to Get a Florida Commercial Real Estate License?
To sell commercial real estate in Florida, a standard Salesperson or Broker license suffices, as there’s no distinct “commercial real estate license.” Aspiring real estate agents should select a sponsoring broker specializing in commercial deals. Working with an employing broker with relevant expertise is key for a successful career in commercial real estate sales.
Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?
If you’re looking for real estate job opportunities near you, especially if you have a salesperson or broker license, browse our StateRequirement Jobs. We provide comprehensive listings of available positions in your area, specifically to those in the real estate industry.