How To Get Your Alabama Real Estate License

By: StateRequirement Staff | Updated: December 8, 2020

Getting your Alabama Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate agent in Alabama. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You’ll still need to take your license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!

This article outlines the process to get your Alabama Real Estate License in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Alabama

Becoming a real estate agent in Alabama is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.


Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Alabama are:

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • You must have proof of high school graduation or the equivalent
  • You must show proof of bonafide residency in any state in the US
  • You must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
  • You must not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years


How to Get Your Alabama Real Estate License


Step 1

Step 1. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course


To start, you must successfully complete an approved 60-hour pre-licensing course.


Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs. 

Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.

Recommended Course

For real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends:

Alabama is one of the few states that require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course. Similar to the state exam, this test is closed-book and closed-note. You are allowed to use a basic-function calculator and scratch paper, but no cell phones or outside internet access

In most cases, you can take this test in your own home, but you must have a proctor overseeing you when sitting for the test. When purchasing your real estate pre-license course, check to see if a proctor is included in your education package.



Step 2

Step 2. Alabama Real Estate License Exam


After you’ve completed your pre-license education and course exam, it is time to take the Alabama Real Estate Exam.

The fee to take the exam is $77 per attempt.

The Alabama Real Estate Exam consists of 140 questions. This includes 100 for the National section and 40 for the State section. 

You will have 210 minutes (3.5 hours) to complete the entire exam.

A passing score for the Alabama Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 70/100 on the National section and 28/40 on the State section.

If you pass the examination, you will receive a score report and instructions for applying for a license. If you do not achieve a passing score, your score report will include diagnostic scoring information and reapplication instructions.


How Hard is the Alabama Real Estate Exam?

The passing rate for the Alabama Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 70%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!

You can register to take your exam on the PSI Alabama Real Estate page. On this page, you will find some other helpful resources as well, including the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.

Before taking the exam, check out StateRequirement’s guide on how to pass the real estate exam. This in-depth guide works as a great partner to your pre-license course to prepare you to pass on your first attempt!



Step 3

Step 3. Fingerprinting and Background Check


After passing your examination, the next step is to complete your fingerprinting and background check. The Alabama Real Estate Commission requires that all applicants have a background check performed before they can become a licensed real estate agent in Alabama.

To proceed with fingerprinting, follow the instructions for fingerprint scanning and processing found on Gemalto. The Commission can only utilize fingerprints processed through Gemalto. The Commission will not accept fingerprints completed for any reason outside of pursuing a real estate license from the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

The fee to complete your fingerprinting services is $48.25.

Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The Alabama Real Estate Commission will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings. 

For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in Alabama. If this is the case, you should complete and submit an Application for Determination of Licensing Eligibility form before your license application. 

License issuance will not proceed until the Alabama Real Estate Commission has received and reviewed the criminal history record information (CHRI) along with the application. The criminal record information will come to the Commission directly from Gemalto and will only be available to the Commission for 30 days. Gemalto is the company who will process your fingerprints.

It is recommended that applicants submit this form (by mail or in-person) to the Real Estate Commission on the same day that they go to a fingerprinting site to be scanned.

Note:

If you aren’t sure whether you are eligible for a real estate license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.



Step 4

Step 4. Real Estate License Application


The completed applications, all additional materials, and fees must be complete and submitted to the Alabama Real Estate Commission within 90 days of your examination date. 

The total fee for this application is $210, which includes a $150 License Fee, $30 Research and Education Fee, and $30 Recovery Fund Fee.

Send the completed application and any other documentation to the Alabama Real Estate Commission’s Licensing Division at 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL 36106.



Step 5

Step 5. Application Review


Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for your background report to come back as a pass. In most cases, this process should take between 5-10 business days. After this, you should receive a copy of your license mailed to your sponsor broker’s office. If you have any questions at this point, you should contact AREC at (334) 242-5544 or [email protected].


Congratulations! 

Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!



Alabama Post-Licensing Education


Within the first 12 months of licensure, you must complete a 30-hour post-licensing course.

You should already have a temporary ID number. If you can’t remember it, you can look up your temporary ID here. You will be required to provide this number at the start of your post-licensing course.

Note:

There’s a chance that your pre-license education package came with the post-license courses in the package, so be sure you check before you buy another course.

Check out StateRequirement’s recommended post-license course provider for access to these courses.



Alabama Real Estate License FAQ


How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Alabama?

All Alabama fees: $340

Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $299-$565

The total estimated cost to get an Alabama Real Estate license is $640-$905.


How Long Does it Take to Get an Alabama Insurance License?

The two steps that take the most time when getting your license are pre-license education and test preparation. The average amount of time that people take from start to finish is generally 3-6 months.

If you dedicate a full-time schedule to this process and study hard, you could possibly complete this process in 2 months. We wouldn’t recommend trying to go any faster than this. Take your time to study and prepare yourself for the exam.


How to Get a Alabama Commercial Real Estate License

To sell commercial real estate in Alabama, a standard Salesperson or Broker license is all that you need. There is no specific “commercial real estate license”.

If you wish to take on a career selling specifically commercial real estate, choose a broker that handles the types of deals that you want to be a part of.


Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?

Check out StateRequirement Jobs to find open real estate jobs in your area!




AREC – Alabama Real Estate Commission

Mailing Address: 

Alabama Real Estate Commission
1201 Carmichael Way
Montgomery, AL 36106

Phone: (334) 242-5544

Fax: (334) 270-9118

Email: [email protected]

Website: https://arec.alabama.gov/arec/




Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2020.

Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More