If you’re getting near your Oregon insurance license renewal date, keep your license active by taking your Oregon insurance continuing education (CE) courses in advance of your expiration date.
This guide will provide you all the information you need to ensure you fulfill your OR insurance license renewal and insurance CE requirements on time.
|Oregon Insurance License Renewal and CE Requirements|
|Expiration Time||Every 2 years|
|Required Continuing Education (CE)||24 credit hours|
|Renewal Cost||$45 per license + CE course cost|
|Recommended CE Course||Kaplan Education Company|
Oregon Insurance Continuing Education
In order to keep your Oregon insurance license in good standing with the state, you will need to renew your license by completing your Oregon Insurance CE requirements before your expiration date.
Individuals with an insurance license in Oregon must renew it every two years. The date of expiration is the last day of the month of your birthday two years from the original issue date. You should receive a renewal notice in the mail 90 days before the date of expiration.
Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Courses
Insurance CE comes in many forms. Most folks nowadays choose to take a self-paced course online, but you can also complete your credit hours by attending an in-person class or even a scheduled online webinar.
The most common method of continuing education today. These CE courses allow you to log in to an online platform any time of day to complete your credit hours. Most of these courses are a mixture of video and text combined with a knowledge exam at the end. Some platforms even allow you to take the course from your phone, which could be useful if you’re short on computer time.
This is how continuing education courses all began. Join your fellow insurance license holders for a live class taught by an industry professional. You may be able to find a “school” that provides all of your state’s required credits in a few full-day classes, or you might also take some shorter sessions to fill part of your requirements.
Scheduled Online Webinar
This is essentially the same as an in-person class, except you don’t have to travel away from your home or office. You will be taught by an instructor who will deliver the lesson at a specified time. Many webinars even allow you to interact with the instructor if you have specific questions.
For Oregon insurance CE courses and credits, StateRequirement recommends:
Tip: Most courses certify completion by taking either a knowledge exam at the end or by counting attendance to all of the scheduled classes. If you want to save time, it’s best to go with a self-paced course. If you want no exam, try an in-person class or an online webinar.
Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The Oregon Division of Financial Regulation requires that all insurance producers and agents complete their continuing education requirements before their expiration date. In Oregon, these requirements include:
- Twenty-four (24) total hours of Oregon insurance continuing education every renewal period, which is two (2) years
- Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics
- Three (3) of those hours must be in Oregon Statutes and Administration Rules
Once you completed the insurance CE course, your CE course provider will send a certificate of completion to the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation. Make sure to keep a printed copy of your certificate for your records.
It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
Oregon Insurance License Renewal
After you have completed your continuing education requirements, you may renew your Oregon insurance license to keep it active.
Follow the steps below to complete your Oregon insurance license renewal requirements ahead of your expiration date.
Step 1: Complete Oregon Insurance License Continuing Education
Follow the steps above to complete your required 24 hours of CE.
Step 2: Apply for Oregon Insurance License Renewal
According to the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation, you may renew your Oregon insurance license by logging into NIPR. Choose the account where you signed up for during your Oregon insurance license application.
NIPR charges $5.60 for processing. The Oregon Division of Financial Regulation provides no charge for processing, so it’s recommended to renew your license more than 30 days before your license expiration date.
Step 3: Pay the Oregon Insurance License Renewal Fee
The renewal fee is $45 per line of authority. To avoid paying late renewal fees, you must complete CE hours and apply for renewal at least 30 days before your license expires. The late fee is $90 per line of authority.
Pay the renewal fees via NIPR by credit card, electronic check, or your chosen online payment system.
Once you complete the steps above before your expiration date, you can renew your license in Oregon.
You’ve taken the steps you need to take and now your insurance license is good for another two years!
What Happens If My Insurance License Expires In Oregon?
In Oregon, the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation will send you via email a renewal notice approximately 90 days before your license expires. If you don’t renew your license on time, there will be a $90 late renewal fee.
There is no continuing education “grace period”. The Oregon Division of Financial Regulation strongly recommends you become CE compliant the month before your license expiration date. Not meeting your CE requirements prevents you from renewing your insurance license.
You can request an extension to complete CE hours in Oregon if you:
- have a long term illness or medical disability
- are in active military service
If your license expires within one year from the expiration date for renewal, you can reinstate your license via NIPR. However, you must pay double the renewal fee and meet your CE requirements.
To request an extension of time to complete CE hours, send a self-addressed, stamped letter to the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation.
Oregon Insurance License Lookup
You can look up the status of your Oregon insurance CE credits and Oregon insurance license renewal by using these resources:
- View your current accrued CE credits using the Oregon State-Based Systems – NAIC tool.
- Check your renewal status via NIPR.
- If you don’t know your insurance license number (National Producer Number or NPN), you can find your name on the State-Based Systems Lookup Search. Select Oregon as your jurisdiction and Licensee Search Type. Enter your information and click Search.
Oregon Division of Financial Regulation Contact Information
Oregon Division of Financial Regulation
P.O. Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309
350 Winter St. NE, Room 410
Salem, OR 97309
Phone: (503) 947-7981
Oregon Insurance License Renewal FAQ
How often do I need to renew my Oregon insurance license?
In Oregon, the expiration date or renewal date is most often based on the requirement to complete continuing education (CE) hours every two years. You must renew by this date and meet your CE hours. You can find out when you need to renew your insurance license on the front of the license itself. The expiration date will be printed directly on the license. Make sure that you renew your insurance before this date.
How much does it cost to renew my Oregon insurance license?
Oregon charges a $45 renewal fee + CE provider cost. Check on Oregon’s requirements to learn more about the costs you can expect to renew your insurance license. Renewing your insurance license through the NIPR (National Insurance Producer Registry) comes with a $5.60 processing fee.
What are the continuing education requirements for Oregon in renewing my insurance license?
You should check with the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation to determine how many hours you need and if there are restrictions on what kind of CE will be accepted. Continuing education topics include insurance policies, ethics, insurance law, and more. Some topics apply to all insurance agents, such as claims and tax updates. Other classes will be geared toward specific lines, such as property and casualty or life and health. See above to find out more about Oregon Insurance CE courses and requirements.
How do I document the completion of my continuing education courses?
Sending in course completion paperwork to the state is typically the responsibility of the course provider. As the individual taking the course, you will not need to send in documentation. If you want to check your continuing education progress and make sure that all completed courses are in your state file, you can use your state’s online system to look up license information, including continuing education completion.
What is NPN for an insurance agent?
You will need your National Producer Number, or NPN, to renew your insurance license. This number is assigned to each individual working in insurance when they are first licensed. If you are unsure of your NPN, you can look it up on the National Insurance Producer Registry using your license number or social security number.