Oklahoma Insurance License Renewal
In Oklahoma, insurance licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the last day of your birth month, biennially, based on the anniversary of your original license year. This means that if you were licensed on an even-numbered year, your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in the next even-numbered year. Your first licensing period may be slightly longer or shorter than two years, depending on the difference between the month you were issued your license and your birth month., biennially, based on the anniversary of your original license year. This means that if you were licensed on an even-numbered year, your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in the next even-numbered year. Your first licensing period may be slightly longer or shorter than two years, depending on the difference between the month you were issued your license and your birth month.
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
If this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.
Step 1. Oklahoma Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The State of Oklahoma requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period. Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics, and two (2) of those hours must be in the subject of legislative update. Credits cannot include the same course taken repeatedly in one reporting period.
Tip:It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to complete double the hours.
You may take your continuing education courses either in person in a classroom setting or online as a self-paced course. The online courses usually require a reading of the subject at hand, then a test at the end.
Upon completion of these courses, the company who you took the course should send the certificate of completion directly to the state. You should, however, print a copy of this certificate to keep in your records just in case there is a dispute later.
Step 2. Renew Your Insurance License In Oklahoma
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Oklahoma insurance license online by using the National Insurance Producer Registry.
There is a fee of $60 per application to renew an insurance producer license with general lines of authority.
Once this process is complete, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be two years from your previous expiration date.
Oklahoma Insurance License Lookup
You can view your current accrued CE credits using the National Association of Insurance Commissioners State Based Systems tool.
If you don’t know your insurance license number, you can inquire online through the State Based Systems License Lookup tool.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Oklahoma Department of Insurance Contact Information
Oklahoma Insurance Department
Five Corporate Plaza
3625 Northwest 56th, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112-4511
Phone: (405) 521-2828
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in January 2021.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More