Getting your North Dakota property and casualty license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in North Dakota.
The North Dakota Insurance Department requires you to complete a five-step process to obtain your property & casualty license – from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a P&C license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How to Get Your North Dakota Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a North Dakota Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Take the North Dakota Licensing Exam (PSI – $128)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (PSI Test Centers – $70.25)
- Complete a North Dakota License Application (National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $100 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps to Get a North Dakota Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your North Dakota P&C license is easy. Just follow these five simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your North Dakota life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a North Dakota Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the North Dakota P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
While North Dakota doesn’t have any formal pre-license education requirements, most insurance professionals opt to take a pre-license education course online. Pre-license education courses are self-paced and include study materials like practice exams and flashcards. Others purchase books or self-study materials to prepare themselves for the exam.
A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Take the North Dakota Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing education course and/or your own independent study, it’s time to take the North Dakota P&C license exam.
North Dakota uses PSI as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The North Dakota P&C insurance exam:
- Requires you to take two separate exams (a property exam and a casualty exam)
- Includes 110 scored questions for the property exam across 10 sections. Those sections cover insurance regulations, North Dakota laws and regulations pertaining to property insurance, federal laws and regulations, general insurance concepts, property insurance basics, and different types of property insurance policies.
- Includes 110 scored questions for the casualty exam across 10 sections. Those sections cover insurance regulations, North Dakota laws and regulations pertaining to casualty insurance, federal laws and regulations, general insurance concepts, casualty insurance basics, and different types of casualty insurance policies.
- Gives you 300 minutes to complete both of the tests (150 minutes for each exam). The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $128 ($64 for the property exam + $64 for the casualty exam), a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the North Dakota P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail either the North Dakota property or casualty insurance exams, you can schedule a time to retake it as soon as 48 hours after your first attempt.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 3: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you take the North Dakota property and casualty insurance exams, you must get a fingerprint-based background check. PSI’s North Dakota test centers provide Live Scan fingerprinting services. Upon completion of your fingerprinting, PSI will mail your signed consent form, fingerprint card, and BCI payment ($41.25) directly to the North Dakota Insurance Department. You also must pay a fingerprinting processing fee of $29 to PSI.
While PSI Test Centers offer fingerprinting services, you also can have this done at other locations as well as Law Enforcement Centers. If you get fingerprinted at a non-PSI site, you’ll be responsible for sending the appropriate payment and fingerprinting card to the North Dakota Insurance Department.
At your fingerprinting appointment, you’ll receive a receipt. Don’t throw it away! Keep the original receipt for your records.
After completing your fingerprint-based background check, you must submit your license application within one year of passing the licensing exam. If you fail to do so, you’ll need to retake the exam.
Step 4: Complete a North Dakota License Application
Once you pass the P&C insurance exam and complete a fingerprint-based background check, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In North Dakota, you must apply online via the NIPR. The application fee is $100 and the transaction fee is $5.60.
The North Dakota Insurance Department will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application within 12 months of passing the exam.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in North Dakota, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the North Dakota Insurance Code.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Step 5: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous four steps, the North Dakota Insurance Department will review your application and fingerprint-based background check. This process may take up to three weeks from the date you submit your application.
Once it finishes reviewing your application, the North Dakota Insurance Department will email you with its decision. If you need to provide more information, a specialist will contact you.
You can print your license from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) License Manager page. There’s no charge to create an account or print a license. If you don’t remember your license number, you can find it by using the NAIC SBS Lookup Search tool.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in North Dakota.
Next Steps After Securing Your North Dakota Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your North Dakota P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN). You can request a letter of certification, which proves you have a P&C license in North Dakota, by visiting the Sircon website. You’ll need to submit this letter along with your job applications.
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In North Dakota, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to renew your P&C license. North Dakota CE requirements state that three of those hours must focus on ethics.
If you have a non-resident license with good standing in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in North Dakota.
To avoid delays in renewing your license, you must complete the required CE hours at least 90 days before your license expires. The renewal fee is $25.
You can’t renew your license until you complete your CE hours and pay any outstanding fines.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our North Dakota insurance license renewal guide.
North Dakota Insurance Department Contact Information
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone: (701) 328-2440
License Search: North Dakota Insurance License Lookup
North Dakota Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in North Dakota?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in North Dakota is at least $492.85, but can exceed $500 based on the type of pre-license education course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Exam Fee: $128 via PSI
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $70.25 via PSI Test Center
- Application Fee: $100 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee via the NIPR
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in North Dakota?
This process may take up to three weeks. You’ll receive an email once the North Dakota Insurance Department reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in North Dakota?
No. North Dakota doesn’t provide a temporary property and casualty insurance license.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in North Dakota?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in North Dakota.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in North Dakota?
With a North Dakota P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in North Dakota?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a North Dakota property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a North Dakota P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in North Dakota?
Yes. To voluntarily cancel your North Dakota insurance producer license, complete, date, and sign the Voluntary Cancellation Request or Removal of Line(s) of Authority form and then email, fax, or mail it to the North Dakota Insurance Department.
North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 401
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in North Dakota?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More