In New Mexico, insurance licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the last day of your birth month, biennially. Renewal notices will be emailed to the email address on file 90 days prior to the expiration.
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
If this this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.
1. New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The State of New Mexico requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period. Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics. Credits cannot include the same course taken repeatedly in one reporting period.
For continuing education courses and credits, StateRequirement recommends:
Note: It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken any time within your license term
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to complete double the hours.
You may take your continuing education courses either in person in a classroom setting or online as a self-paced course. The online courses usually require a reading of the subject at hand, then a test at the end.
Upon completion of these courses, the company who you took the course should send the certificate of completion directly to the state. You should, however, print a copy of this certificate to keep in your records just in case there is a dispute later.
2. How To Renew Your Insurance License In New Mexico
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your New Mexico insurance license online by using the National Insurance Producer License Renewal tool or the New Mexico State Information Center Licensing Search and Renewal tool.
There is a fee of $60 to renew your license.
Once this process is complete, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be two years from the original.
New Mexico Insurance License Lookup
If you don’t know your insurance license number, you can inquire online through the National Insurance Producer Registry or the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ New Mexico State Based System.
New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance Information
New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance
Producer Licensing Bureau
PO Box 1689
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
Email: [email protected]
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2019.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More