Getting your New Jersey property and casualty (P&C) license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in New Jersey.
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance requires you to complete a five-step process to obtain your P&C license — from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How To Get Your New Jersey Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a New Jersey Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Take the New Jersey Licensing Exam (PSI – $38)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (IdentoGO – $66.05)
- Complete a New Jersey License Application (National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $170 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps To Get a New Jersey Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your New Jersey P&C license is easy. Just follow these five simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your New Jersey life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a New Jersey Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the New Jersey P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
In New Jersey, you must take a 40-hour, pre-license education course on property and casualty insurance. New Jersey requires that three of those pre-license education hours focus on ethics coursework. After completing the course, you’ll need to present a valid photo ID and an original certificate of completion from the approved pre-licensing education provider when you arrive to take your licensing exam. The pre-license course certificate will remain valid for 12 months.
A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Take the New Jersey Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing education course and/or your own independent study, it’s time to take the New Jersey P&C license exam.
New Jersey uses PSI as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The New Jersey P&C insurance exam:
- Includes a total of 112 scored questions that cover seven sections:
- Types of Property Policies
- Types of Casualty Policies
- Property and Casualty Insurance Terms and Related Concepts
- Property and Casualty Policy Provisions and Contract Law
- New Jersey Laws, Rules, and Regulations Common to Life, Accident and Health, Property, and Casualty Insurance
- New Jersey Laws, Rules, and Regulations Pertinent to Property Insurance Only
- New Jersey Laws, Rules, and Regulations Pertinent to Casualty Insurance Only
- Gives you 210 minutes to complete the test. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $38, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the New Jersey P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt. If you happen to fail the New Jersey P&C insurance exam, you can schedule a time to retake it as soon as 24 hours after your first attempt.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 3: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you take the New Jersey P&C license exam, you must get a fingerprint-based background check fromIdentoGO. The fee for fingerprinting services is $66.05 to cover the cost of comparing your prints against criminal history records.
To set up a fingerprinting appointment, go to the IdentoGO website or call (877) 503-5981. Use service code 2F16Y3 when making your appointment.
At your fingerprinting appointment, you’ll receive a receipt. Don’t throw it away! Keep the original receipt for your records and attach a copy to the license application you submit to the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance.
You must complete your fingerprint-based background check and then submit a license application within one year of passing the P&C licensing exam or you’ll need to retake the exam.
Step 4: Complete a New Jersey License Application
Once you pass the P&C insurance exam and complete a fingerprint-based background check, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In New Jersey, you must apply online via the NIPR. The application fee is $170 and the transaction fee is $5.60.
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application within 12 months of passing the exam.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in New Jersey, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the New Jersey Administrative Code.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in New Jersey.
Next Steps After Securing Your New Jersey Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your New Jersey P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN). You can request a letter of certification, which proves you have a P&C license in New Jersey, by visiting the Sircon website. You may need to submit this letter along with your job applications.
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In New Jersey, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to renew your P&C license. New Jersey CE requirements state that three of those hours must focus on ethics/consumer protection and at least 12 of the total 24 hours taken as “classroom” or “classroom-equivalent” courses.
If you have a non-resident license with good standing in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in New Jersey.
To avoid delays in renewing your license, you must complete the required CE hours at least 30 days before your license expires. The renewal fee is $150 and the late fee is $250.
You can’t renew your license until you complete your CE hours and pay any outstanding fines.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our New Jersey insurance license renewal guide.
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance Contact Information
20 West State Street
P.O. Box 325
Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: (609) 292-7272
License Search: New Jersey Insurance License Search
New Jersey Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in New Jersey?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in New Jersey is at least $468.65 but can exceed $500 based on the type of pre-license education course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Exam Fee: $38 via PSI
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $66.05 via IdentoGO
- Application Fee: $170 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee via the NIPR
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in New Jersey?
This process typically takes one to five business days. You’ll receive an email once the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in New Jersey?
Yes. New Jersey provides a 60-day, temporary property and casualty insurance license. Qualified applicants will receive their temporary work authorization immediately after they pass their exam. To activate the temporary work authorization, the applicant must follow the instructions printed on the temporary work authorization certificate. The temporary work authorization allows the qualifying individual to transact insurance-related business for a period of 60 days from the exam date while under the supervision of a current licensed producer.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in New Jersey?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for property and casualty insurance agents in New Jersey.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in New Jersey?
With a New Jersey P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in New Jersey?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a New Jersey property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a New Jersey P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in New Jersey?
Yes. To cancel your license, complete the Request for License Surrender/Status Change form and fax it to (609) 984-2792.
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in New Jersey?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in March 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More