Getting your Mississippi property and casualty license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in Mississippi.
The Mississippi Insurance Department requires you to complete a four-step process to obtain your property & casualty license – from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a P&C license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How to Get Your Mississippi Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a Mississippi Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Take the Mississippi Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $52)
- Complete a Mississippi License Application (Sircon or the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $100 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee + $1 online application fee – NIPR only)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps to Get a Mississippi Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your Mississippi P&C license is easy. Just follow these four simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Mississippi life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Mississippi Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the Mississippi P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
Mississippi requires a total of 40 hours of pre-license education for a combination of both the P&C lines of authority. A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Take the Mississippi Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing education course and/or your own independent study, it’s time to take the Mississippi P&C license exam.
Mississippi uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The Mississippi P&C insurance exam:
- Includes a total of 90 scored questions that cover seven sections, including types of property and casualty policies, P&C related terms and concepts, P&C policy provisions, and P&C insurance laws specific to Mississippi.
- Gives you 150 minutes to complete the test. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $52, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the Mississippi P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail the Mississippi P&C insurance exam, you must wait one day before scheduling a reexamination.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 3: Complete a Mississippi License Application
Once you pass the P&C insurance exam, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In Mississippi, you must apply online via Sircon or the NIPR. The application fee is $100 and the transaction fee is $5.60 (for both Sircon and NIPR). You also must pay a $1 online application fee if you apply via the NIPR.
The Mississippi Insurance Department will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application within 12 months of passing the exam.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in Mississippi, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the Mississippi Producer Licensing Uniformity Act.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to Licensing@mid.ms.gov.
Step 4: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous three steps, the Mississippi Insurance Department will review your application. The process usually takes three to five business days from the date you submit your application.
After the Mississippi Insurance Department completes its review, you’ll receive an email regarding the issuance of your license.
You can print your license from the Sircon or NIPR websites. There’s no charge to create an account or print a license. To search for or manage your license, visit the Mississippi Insurance Department’s Individual and Entity Licensing Search page.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in Mississippi.
Next Steps After Securing Your Mississippi Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Mississippi P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN). You can request a letter of certification, which proves you have a P&C license in Mississippi, by visiting the Sircon website. You’ll need to submit this letter along with your job applications.
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
If you have a Mississippi insurance license in effect for 19 to 24 months, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years to renew your license. Mississippi CE requirements state that three of those hours must focus on ethics. If you’re approaching your first renewal with a license active for 13 to 18 months, you only need to take 12 hours of CE courses.
If you have a non-resident license in good standing with your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Mississippi.
To find out if you need to take Mississippi courses, go to the Sircon website and click on the “Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry” option.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our Mississippi insurance license renewal guide.
Mississippi Insurance Department Contact Information
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205-0079
Phone: (601) 359-3582
License Search: Mississippi Individual and Entity Licensing Search
Mississippi Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in Mississippi?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in Mississippi is at least $347.60, but can reach nearly $500 based on the type of pre-license education course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Exam Fee: $52 via Pearson VUE
- Application Fee: $100 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee via Sircon or the NIPR + $1 for online applications (NIPR only)
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in Mississippi?
This process typically takes three to five business days. You’ll receive an email once the Mississippi Insurance Department reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in Mississippi?
Yes. Mississippi provides a 180-day, temporary P&C insurance license. Send your completed Temporary insurance Producer Application to:
Mississippi Insurance Department
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in Mississippi?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in Mississippi.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in Mississippi?
With a Mississippi P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in Mississippi?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a Mississippi property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a Mississippi P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in Mississippi?
Mississippi Insurance Department
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in Mississippi?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More