Getting your Kansas property and casualty license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in Kansas.
The Kansas Insurance Department (KID) requires you to complete a six-step process to obtain your property & casualty license – from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a P&C license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How to Get Your Kansas Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a Kansas License Application (National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $90 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (Pearson VUE – $60)
- Apply for a Kansas Tax Clearance Certificate (Kansas Department of Revenue – no charge)
- Complete a Kansas Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Take the Kansas Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $64)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps to Get a Kansas Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your Kansas P&C license is easy. Just follow these six simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Kansas life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Kansas License Application
The first step in getting your P&C insurance license in Kansas is to submit the application.
In Kansas, you must apply online via the NIPR. The application fee is $90 and the transaction fee is $5.60. You also must pay $60 for a fingerprint-based background check along with your application fee.
The KID will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam as well as paid the required fees.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in Kansas, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the Kansas Insurance Code.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to KID.Licensing@ks.gov.
Step 2: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
When you apply for a P&C insurance license in Kansas, you also must get fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history background check via Pearson VUE.
Pearson VUE offers digital fingerprinting to all resident candidates at the following test centers: Overland Park, Topeka, and Wichita. The service isn’t available at the testing site in Hays. To make a fingerprint reservation, visit Pearson VUE or call (888) 204-6255.
You must electronically submit a Waiver Agreement and FBI Privacy Act Statement (Fingerprint Waiver Form) via Pearson VUE to the KID. The KID no longer accepts Fingerprint Waiver Forms submitted in paper. The fingerprint-based background check fee is $60, which you should already have paid along with your license application fee (see Step 1 above).
Pearson VUE will electronically send your fingerprints to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI). The KID won’t process your fingerprinting and criminal background check until you submit your license application and pay the required fees.
Step 3: Apply for a Kansas Tax Clearance Certificate
Kansas requires P&C insurance license applicants to submit a tax clearance form to the KID when they submit their license application.
You can apply for a certificate of tax clearance by visiting the Kansas Department of Revenue page. Click on the “Submit Request” button followed by the “Individual” button, and then fill out the request form. Once you submit the form, you’ll receive a confirmation email containing a link that lets you check the status of your tax clearance as soon as 24 hours after submission.
If the Kansas Department of Revenue approves your tax clearance request, you can download and save a copy of your tax clearance certificate for your records. You must then email your certificate of tax clearance to the KID at KID.Licensing@ks.gov with “Tax Clearance” in the subject line.
The KID won’t process your license application until it receives your tax clearance certificate. A tax clearance is valid for the period stated on the certificate of clearance you receive.
For additional information on tax clearances, visit the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Tax Clearance Request Information page.
Step 4: Complete a Kansas Pre-License Education Course
After you submit your license application, fingerprints, and tax clearance certificate, you need to study for your upcoming Kansas P&C licensing exam.
Before you take the Kansas P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
While Kansas doesn’t have any formal pre-license education requirements, most insurance professionals opt to take a pre-license education course online. Pre-license education courses are self-paced and include study materials like practice exams and flashcards. Others purchase books or self-study materials to prepare themselves for the exam.
A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 5: Take the Kansas Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing education course and/or your own independent study, it’s time to take the Kansas P&C license exam.
Kansas uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The Kansas P&C insurance exam:
- Includes a total of 140 scored questions that cover 10 sections. Those sections focus on, types of policies, insurance terms and concepts, policy provisions and contract law, and state-specific statutes, rules, and regulations related to property and casualty insurance.
- Gives you 150 minutes to complete the test. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $64, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the Kansas P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail the Kansas P&C insurance exam, you must wait at least 24 hours before scheduling a time to retake the exam. You also must wait at least seven calendar days between exam attempts, but you may take it as many times as needed.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 6: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous five steps, the KID’s Producer Licensing Division will review your application and background check. It reviews filings in the order it receives them, and this process usually takes three to five business days from the date you submit your application.
Once your application review is complete, the KID will email you with its decision or ask you to provide more information.
Effective Jan. 1, 2022, you must print your license via the NIPR website. There’s no charge to create an account or print a license. You must comply with all licensing requirements within one year of the submission date on your application.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in Kansas.
Next Steps After Securing Your Kansas Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Kansas P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN).
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
If you have a non-resident license that meets the CE requirements in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Kansas. You must instead provide a clearance letter from your former state of residence. A clearance letter isn’t required if your former state of residence participates in the National Association of Insurance Commissions (NAIC) State-Based Systems (SBS) Database.
To avoid delays in renewing your license, you must complete the required CE hours at least 90 days before your license expires. You can apply for your license renewal via the NIPR or the NAIC SBS site. The renewal fee is $4 and the late fee is $104.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our Kansas insurance license renewal guide.
Kansas Insurance Department Contact Information
1300 SW Arrowhead Rd.
Topeka, KS 66604
Phone: (785) 296-7829
License Search: Kansas Insurance License Lookup
Kansas Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in Kansas?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in Kansas is at least $408.60, but can exceed $500 based on the type of pre-license course you choose.
The costs include:
- Application Fee: $90 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee via the NIPR
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $60 via Pearson VUE
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Exam Fee: $64 via Pearson VUE
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in Kansas?
This process typically takes three to five business days. You’ll receive an email once the KID’s Producer Licensing Division reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in Kansas?
No. Kansas doesn’t issue a temporary P&C insurance license at this time.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in Kansas?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in Kansas.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in Kansas?
With a Kansas P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in Kansas?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a Kansas property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a Kansas P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in Kansas?
Yes. To cancel your license, you must submit a written request with your name and national producer number (NPN) directly to the Kansas Insurance Department.
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in Kansas?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More