Georgia Insurance Adjuster License

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

To secure your Georgia adjuster license and transition into the role of a licensed insurance claims adjuster, the following steps need to be completed:

  • Begin with the adjuster pre-exam education to solidify your foundational knowledge
  • Proceed to take and successfully pass the Georgia insurance adjuster exam in your preferred area
  • Complete a mandatory fingerprint and background check for identity verification
  • Finally, submit your licensing application to the Georgia Department of Insurance

This article provides a comprehensive guide to aid you in navigating these steps and ultimately achieving your Georgia insurance adjuster license.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend using AdjusterPro’s online study packages, which come with a 98% satisfaction rate.

4.8 out of 5 starsAdjusterPro ($199+)

How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in Georgia

Getting your Georgia adjuster license can be a simple and easy process, but this will ultimately depend on how you go about completing the required steps.

Step 1: Adjuster Pre-License Education

The first step in getting a Georgia insurance adjuster license is taking pre-license education courses. These are state-required courses pertaining to claims adjusting, basic insurance information, state laws and mandates, and professional ethics.

To fill the pre-license requirement, you must complete a certain amount of credit hours depending on the lines of authority (types of licenses) you wish to attain.

You must complete forty (40) hours of pre-license education for the Independent Adjuster Insurance line.

You will receive a certificate upon completion of the courses. Keep these certificates, as you will need them when taking your exams.

Most applicants choose to take these courses online, as it fits their schedule better, but there may also be in-person courses available. You should choose which format in which to take your courses based on your preferred method of learning.

The goal isn’t just to get the courses out of the way, it’s to prepare you to pass your license exam on the first attempt.

Recommended Course

Over 80% of our readers use AdjusterPro’s online courses — which come with a 98% satisfaction rate — when preparing for their insurance adjuster exam(s). For comprehensive study packages, StateRequirement recommends:

4.8 out of 5 starsAdjusterPro ($199+)

Step 2: Georgia Insurance Adjuster License Exam

Once you have completed all of your coursework, you will be able to take (and hopefully pass) the Georgia insurance adjuster license exam.

This is a proctored test, which means that you will be in a controlled environment with a person watching over you. It is, therefore, a good idea to work on both your timing and nerves prior to sitting for your exam.

Georgia offers one line of authority for adjusters:

  • The Independent Adjuster exam — This consists of one hundred (100) questions and you will be given two hours (2:00:00) to complete it

An outline of included subjects for the exam can be found here: Pearson VUE Georgia Examination Content Outlines.

Each attempt of the exam costs $63 and will be paid when you make your reservation.

A total score of 70% or more is required to pass this test. To further explain the scoring of the exam, we will quote the Pearson VUE Georgia Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook:

There are multiple versions of each of the licensing examinations. These versions are known as forms. All forms of an examination are developed based on the content outlines.

To ensure that no candidate is put at an unfair advantage or disadvantage due to the particular form of an examination that he or she is given, a statistical procedure known as equating is used to attain comparable form difficulty.

The passing score of an examination was set by the Georgia Insurance Department (GID) after a comprehensive study was completed for each examination. The examination score is reported as a percent score on a scale of 0%-100%.

It is the percentage of questions answered correctly on the examination. You need to answer 70% of the questions correctly in order to pass the examination.

You can register to take your exams — as well as find out more information — on the Pearson VUE Georgia Insurance page or by calling Pearson VUE at (800) 274-0488.

Step 3: Georgia Insurance Adjuster License Application

Once you have completed your pre-licensing requirement and examination, the next step is applying for your license.

Note: The fee for an application is $115.

Apply online with the Georgia Insurance Adjuster License Application.

You must also upload the GID-276-EN Citizenship Affidavit Form along with your application. Be sure to send a copy of the front and back of one secure and verifiable identification document.

If you wish to apply with a paper application, you may submit your GID-103-AL Application FormGID-276-EN Citizenship Affidavit Form, and a check for your application fee by mail to PSI Services LLC PO Box 742983 Atlanta, Georgia 30348-2983.

Step 4. Fingerprinting and Background Check

The State of Georgia requires that all insurance license applications provide fingerprints prior to licensing. Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check.

If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts.

If you have specific questions regarding things that may come up on your background check you may call the Georgia Department of Insurance at (404) 656-2101 or send them an email.

You must apply for an insurance adjuster license before registering for and getting a fingerprint-based background check from Fieldprint.

Note: The fee for fingerprinting services is $51.50. This covers the cost of comparing your prints against criminal history records.

Step 5: Application Review

Once you have submitted your application and have completed all the other requirements, your Georgia license application will be reviewed by the state.

This process generally takes about four (4) weeks. Depending on the results of your background check, the Department of Insurance may request more information or documentation.

After the review is complete, you will receive an email from PSI regarding the status of your license.

Congratulations!

You’ve done the work, put in the time and effort, and now hold the key to your own success! We’re proud of you. Take five minutes and celebrate.

What Kind of Insurance Adjuster Will You Be?

There are four main types of insurance adjustersstaff adjusters, independent adjusters, catastrophe adjusters, and public adjusters.

Each of these positions accomplishes essentially the same task: assess the damage to property brought about by some event and make an evaluation of what monetary value the insurance claim should carry.

The big difference between these different types of insurance adjusters is who pays them and, in the case of the public adjuster, who they are advocating for. Staff, independent, and catastrophe adjusters all require the same type of license, while a public adjuster license is a little different in its specifications.

  • Staff Adjuster – Works directly for one insurance company in order to investigate, evaluate, and potentially settle claims
  • Independent Adjuster – Works for a third-party company, often called an Independent Adjusting Firm, which has been contracted by insurance carriers to help settle their claims
  • Catastrophe (CAT) Adjuster – Can be an independent or staff adjuster who travels to an area that has been largely affected by an event (usually severe weather) and performs adjustment services to insurance claims en masse
  • Inside Adjuster – Inside adjusters, sometimes referred to as “desk” or “remote” adjusters, handle claims from an office. They are the policyholder’s main contact and the person who applies the policy terms and standards to the claim
  • Public Adjuster – Independent insurance adjusters that customers choose to hire in order to settle insurance claims. Public adjusters are not hired by insurance companies

Note: To become a public adjuster, you must obtain a standard adjuster license, get an appointment from a public adjusting firm, gain work experience, and eventually pass an additional exam.

Georgia Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Pearson VUE Georgia Insurance Attn: Regulatory Program
5601 Green Valley Dr.
Bloomington MN 55437

Phone: (800) 274-8969

Email: pvgainsurance@pearson.com

Website: https://oci.georgia.gov/agents-agency-licensing

Georgia Insurance Adjuster License FAQ

How do I get my adjuster license in Georgia?

Obtaining your adjuster license in Georgia is as simple as taking an approved pre-licensing course, passing the state adjuster exam, and submitting an application to the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner. Check out our Georgia Adjuster License article if you need to clarify any doubts about this process.

How much does it cost to get your adjuster license in Georgia?

In Georgia, it should cost you around $428 in total to obtain an adjuster license. This includes the costs of your pre-licensing education, exam fees, and application submission. We recommend AdjusterPro for your pre-licensing education because it offers a high-quality course at great value for money. Find out more in our AdjusterPro Course Review.

How many times can you take the Georgia adjuster exam?

In Georgia, if you fail the adjuster exam, you can retake it as many times as necessary until you pass. However, each attempt requires a new exam registration and will cost $63 per attempt. To make sure you pass on your first attempt, check out our article on How to Pass The Insurance Adjuster Exam.

What states are reciprocal with a Georgia adjuster license?

The State of Georgia has reciprocal agreements with 29 other states, including Florida, Texas, and Michigan, which enables resident license holders to obtain equivalent ones in these states without having to take additional exams. To check the most current reciprocity agreements with the Georgia adjuster license, be sure to check out our article on Adjuster License Reciprocity.

Do I need to renew my Georgia adjuster license?

Yes, Georgia adjuster licenses need to be renewed every two years. The state requires adjusters to complete 15 hours of continuing education over this period to submit a renewal application. To read more about how you can meet these continuing education requirements, see our article on Adjuster Continuing Education.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More