Alabama Insurance Adjuster License

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

Several requirements must be met in order to acquire your Alabama adjuster license and step into the role of a licensed insurance adjuster, namely:

  • A completed pre-exam education course
  • A passing grade on your chosen Alabama adjuster exam
  • A fingerprint and background verification
  • A licensing application submitted to the Alabama Department of Insurance

This article serves as a comprehensive resource, aimed at guiding you through these steps to ultimately help you get your Alabama insurance adjuster license.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend using AdjusterPro’s online study packages, which come with a 98% satisfaction rate.

4.8 out of 5 starsAdjusterPro ($379+)

How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in Alabama

Getting your Alabama adjuster license can be a simple and easy process, but this will ultimately depend on how you go about completing the required steps.

Step 1: Adjuster Pre-License Education

The first step in getting an Alabama Insurance Adjuster License is taking a pre-license education course. These are state-required courses related to claims adjusting, basic insurance information, state laws and mandates, and professional ethics.

To fill the pre-license requirement, you must complete a certain amount of credit hours depending on the lines of authority (types of licenses) you wish to attain.

You must complete forty (40) hours of pre-license education for the All Lines Insurance line and, twenty (20) hours of pre-license education for the Property & Casualty Insurance line, Workers Compensation, and Crop Adjuster Insurance line.

You will receive a certificate upon completion of the courses. Keep these certificates, as you will need them when taking your exams.

Most applicants choose to take these courses online, as it fits their schedule better, but there may also be in-person courses available. You should choose which format in which to take your courses based on your preferred method of learning.

The goal isn’t just to get the courses out of the way, it’s to prepare you to pass the Alabama exam on the first attempt.

Recommended Course

Over 80% of our readers use AdjusterPro’s online courses — which come with a 98% satisfaction rate — when preparing for their insurance adjuster exam(s). For comprehensive study packages, StateRequirement recommends:

4.8 out of 5 starsAdjusterPro ($379+)

Step 2: Alabama Insurance Adjuster License Exam

Once you have completed all of your coursework, you will be able to take (and hopefully pass) the Alabama insurance adjuster license exam.

This is a proctored test, which means that you will be in a controlled environment with a person watching over you. It is, therefore, a good idea to work on both your timing and nerves prior to sitting for your exam.

In Alabama there are four distinct options available to you when it comes to adjuster lines:

  • The Alabama Property and Casualty Adjuster license exam — This consists of one hundred twenty-five (125) questions, and you have two and a half hours (2:30:00) to complete it
  • The Alabama Workers’ Compensation Adjuster license exam — This consists of one hundred (100) questions, and you have one hour and forty minutes (1:40:00) to complete it
  • The Alabama Crop Adjuster license exam — This consists of one hundred (100) questions, and you have one hour and forty minutes (1:40:00) to complete it
  • The Alabama All Lines Adjuster license exam — This consists of one hundred fifty (150) questions, and you have three hours (3:00:00) to complete it

An outline of included subjects for these exams can be found here: Alabama Department of Insurance Examination Content Outline.

Each attempt at the exam costs $75 and will be paid when you make your reservation. You must register at least 7 days in advance of the day you wish to test.

A total score of 70% or more is required to pass this test.

StateRequirement recommends that you study for one exam at a time. This is because insurance adjuster exams are difficult enough on their own without the possibility of confusing information from one line to another. This will allow you to work incrementally towards completing your final exam.

Note: You can register to take your exams — as well as find out more information — on the University of Alabama – State of Alabama Insurance Testing or by calling (205) 348-3000.

Step 3: Fingerprinting and Background Check

The State of Alabama requires that all insurance license applications provide fingerprints prior to licensing. Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check.

If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts.

If you have specific questions regarding things that may come up on your background check you may call the Alabama Department of Insurance at (334) 241-4126 or send them an email.

You will process your fingerprints through Gemalto. You must pass your exam before you make your fingerprinting reservations. Appointments can be made on their website or by phone at (866) 989-9316.

Note: The fee for fingerprinting services is $48.25.

Step 4: Alabama Insurance Adjuster License Application

Once you have completed your exams and fingerprinting, you are now ready to apply for your license.

Note: The fee for an online application is $100.

Apply online with the Alabama Insurance Adjuster License Application. After you process your application online, you must submit proof of citizenship.

To submit your proof of citizenship, go to the Alabama Department of Insurance Citizenship Documentation For New Applicants.

Documentation must be received before the license will be issued. If the documentation is not received within 10 days after submission, the application will be declined.

Step 5: Application Review

Once you have submitted your application and have completed all the other requirements, your license application will be reviewed by the state.

This process generally takes about two to four (2-4) business days. Depending on the results of your background check, the Department of Insurance may request more information or documentation.

After the review is complete, you will receive an email from NIPR regarding the status of your license. You may also check the status of your application on Alabama License Lookup.

Congratulations!

You’ve done the work, put in the time and effort, and now hold the key to your own success! We’re proud of you. Take five minutes and celebrate.

What Kind of Insurance Adjuster Will You Be?

There are four main types of insurance adjustersstaff adjusters, independent adjusters, catastrophe adjusters, and public adjusters.

Each of these positions accomplishes essentially the same task: assess the damage to property brought about by some event and make an evaluation of what monetary value the insurance claim should carry.

The big difference between these different types of insurance adjusters is who pays them and, in the case of the public adjuster, who they are advocating for. Staff, independent, and catastrophe adjusters all require the same type of license, while a public adjuster license is a little different in its specifications.

  • Staff Adjuster – Works directly for one insurance company in order to investigate, evaluate, and potentially settle claims
  • Independent Adjuster – Works for a third-party company, often called an Independent Adjusting Firm, which has been contracted by insurance carriers to help settle their claims
  • Catastrophe (CAT) Adjuster – Can be an independent or staff adjuster who travels to an area that has been largely affected by an event (usually severe weather) and performs claims adjuster services en masse
  • Inside Adjuster – Inside adjusters, sometimes referred to as “desk” or “remote” adjusters, handle claims from an office. They are the policyholder’s main contact and the person who applies the policy terms and standards to the claim
  • Public Adjuster – Is an independent insurance adjuster that customers choose to hire in order to settle insurance claims. Public adjusters are not hired by insurance companies

Note: In Alabama, no public adjuster license is available.

Alabama Department of Insurance Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Attn: Licensing Division
P. O. Box 303351
Montgomery Alabama 36130

Phone: (334) 241-4126

Fax: (334) 240-3282

Email: ProducerLicensing@insurance.alabama.gov

Website: http://www.aldoi.gov/

Alabama Insurance Adjuster License FAQ

How do I get my insurance adjuster license in Alabama?

To obtain an independent adjuster license in Alabama, you need to complete a state-approved online pre licensing course, pass an appropriate Alabama adjuster exam, and submit a licensing application along with the required documents and fees to the Department of Insurance. You can read more about the licensing process in our article about the Alabama Insurance Adjuster License.

Does Alabama require adjusters to be licensed?

Yes, Alabama does require adjusters to be licensed. This is to ensure that adjusters have the necessary knowledge and skills to perform their duties in compliance with state insurance laws and regulations. To find out about the duties insurance adjusters are expected to perform, check out our What Does an Insurance Adjuster Do article.

How much is an Alabama adjuster license?

Acquiring an adjuster license in Alabama should cost around $223, not including your pre-licensing education. This figure can drastically change depending on the course you select and the number of attempts you need at the Alabama insurance adjuster exam. To see why we recommend AdjusterPro as your pre-licensing education provider, read our AdjusterPro Course Review.

How much does an adjuster make in Alabama?

The salary for an insurance adjuster in Alabama varies greatly depending on the adjuster’s experience, specialty, and number of cases they’ve handled, though the average typically falls within the $48,000—$55,000 range. We explore this topic in greater detail in our How Much Does an Insurance Adjuster Make article.

Do I need to renew my adjuster license in Alabama?

Yes, insurance claims adjusters in Alabama are required by law to renew their licenses every two years. During each two-year licensing period, they must complete 24 hours of continuing education, including three hours of ethics training. Read more about this in our Adjuster Continuing Education article.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More