How to Become a Notary in Vermont

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

How to Become a Notary in Vermont

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey towards a unique profession.

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Vermont, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into simple.

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include the mandatory Notary Seal Stamp as well as two years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($59)

Become a Notary in Vermont

In order to become a notary signing agent in Vermont, you will need to complete a few simple steps.

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements

In Vermont, there are a few essential notary requirements you need to meet before you can apply:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a permanent legal resident or citizen of the U.S.
  • Be a resident of or an employee under Vermont law

Any convictions must be reported, and all necessary documentation provided, such as written explanations and certified court documents.

Note: Individuals from certain professions are exempt from having to complete certain steps. For a full list of these professions, see the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation’s List of Exceptions.

Step 2: Create an Account on the Office of Professional Regulation Website

Begin your notary application by creating an account on Vermont’s Office of Professional Regulation website. This is the hub from which you can apply, renew, and update an application or license.

You will need the following important pieces of information to be able to set up your account:

  • Social Security Number
  • Driver’s license
  • Home address (and mailing address if different)
  • Business name, address, and phone number

After creating an account and logging in, click “Apply for Individual License” and then “Notaries Public” from the drop-down menu.

Vermont Secretary of State recommends reviewing their application fees and 90 Day Initial Licensing Policy before initiating your application — which can be found here.

Step 3: Upload Your Notarized Oath of Office

The next step in this process is to complete the Oath of Office/Affirmation form and get it notarized. You can do this by taking the oath before a duly commissioned Justice of the Peace or Notary Public.

Then, upload a scanned copy of this notarized document to the Office of Professional Regulation’s online system and pay the non-refundable $30 application fee.

Note: Applications can only be submitted through this online portal, mail applications are not accepted. Do NOT send this form to the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration, OR the Office of Professional Regulation.

Step 4: Take the Vermont Jurisprudence Exam

As you continue the process of completing your online application, you will be prompted to download the Vermont State Jurisprudence exam.

Once you have completed this exam, upload a scanned copy of your answer sheet and submit your application.

Note: You will receive an email within three to five business days once your notary application is approved. You can find your notary commission certificate available to print from the OPR’s online services platform.

Step 5: Protect Yourself with Errors and Omissions Insurance

While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts. It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

Recommended Course

Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include the mandatory Notary Seal Stamp as well as two years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($59)

Step 6: Equip Yourself With the Necessary Supplies

Once your notary commission is approved, get yourself set up with the necessary notary supplies. These include a notary stamp or seal and a Vermont notary journal.

The seal is used to authenticate your notarial acts, and the record book is for logging every notarial act you perform.

Step 7: Purchase a Course (Optional)

Even though this last step is not a legal requirement, you should note that several Vermont notary applicants choose to invest in a notary course. This is because it can offer several benefits, such as:

  • Understanding the Law: Notary laws can be complex and vary from state to state. A course can help ensure that notary signing agents fully understand Vermont notary laws and how to apply them correctly
  • Professional Development: A course can enhance professional skills, making a notary more effective and competent in their role
  • Reducing Liability: By better understanding the rules and best practices, Vermont notaries can reduce the risk of making errors that could result in legal action
  • Increased Confidence: A notary course can boost a notary’s confidence by giving them a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise to draw from
  • Staying Updated: Laws and procedures change over time. A course can help notaries stay current with any changes in notary regulations and practices

So, while it’s not mandatory in Vermont, many aspiring notaries find value in such courses. It’s a personal decision based on individual comfort and professional goals.

How to Become a Notary in Vermont FAQ

How much does it cost to be a notary in Vermont?

The main cost to be aware of is the non-refundable $30 fee you’ll have to pay to submit your application to Vermont’s OPR website. However, there may also be other associated costs, such as the cost of a notary seal, and any necessary continuing education programs to be able to renew your commission in the future.

What does it take to become a notary in Vermont?

To become a notary in Vermont you must be at least 18 years old, a resident of Vermont, and have a record free of serious criminal convictions. Then, submit an application to the Office of Professional Regulation’s website, take an oath of office, and pass the Vermont jurisprudence exam (if necessary). See our How to Become a Notary in Vermont article for more information.

Does Vermont allow remote online notarization?

Sadly, electronic notarization is not currently allowed in Vermont. This refers to the ability for document transmissions and signings to be completed electronically. Moreover, in Vermont notaries are required to be physically present with a signer in order to notarize a document (such as a marriage certificate, living will, or loan).

How long is a notary public’s commission term in Vermont?

In Vermont, a notary public’s commission term lasts for two years. This starts on the date of your notary’s initial commission and expires two years later, on the last day of the month in which the commission started. At the end of this commission, you will be required to renew your license by completing a continuing education and uploading the certificate of completion to the Office of Professional Regulation’s website.

Is an exam required to become a notary in Vermont?

No, an exam is not required to become a notary in Vermont. Having said that, purchasing an optional online education course — or individually spending some time in order to ensure that you are up to date on Vermont’s notary laws — is often recommended nonetheless. See our article on How to Become a Notary for more information on starting your loan signing career.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.