Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey toward a unique profession.
In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Utah, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into simple.
Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.
Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s state-approved packages, which come with E&O insurance, notary supplies, and a surety bond.
Become a Notary in Utah
In order to become a notary in Utah, you will need to complete a few simple steps.
Step 1: Meet the Eligibility Requirements
To qualify for a notary license in Utah, there are certain requirements to satisfy. Namely, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a Utah resident, or be employed in the state, for at least 30 days
- Be able to read, write and understand English
- Either have permanent resident status or be a U.S. citizen (under S.245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act)
- Not have any disqualifying offenses or license revocations
Step 2: Sign Up on the Lieutenant Governor’s Website
Before you can sit your exam, you first need to create an account on the Lieutenant Governor’s website and enter your personal information. Make sure that you have the following with you:
- Your Social Security Number
- Driver’s license
- Home address (and mailing address if different)
- Business name, address, and phone number
This step officially creates your application, so ensure you satisfy all of the eligibility requirements outlined above and double check your information is correct before continuing.
Note: You will be immediately directed to take the test once you have finished creating your account.
Step 3: Register and Take the Notary Public Exam
Next, you will need to take (and pass) the Notary Public Exam.
The online exam is made up of 35 multiple-choice questions for a total of 65 available points (10 questions are worth 4 points and 25 questions are worth 1 point).
You will receive your test results immediately after you’ve finished the exam and paid the $95 test and administration fee.
To become a notary, you’ll have to pass with 61 points or higher — if you don’t pass, you can retake it within 30 days from the date of your first test.
In order to ensure that you pass your exam on your first attempt, we recommend purchasing a third-party education course. This can help you get accustomed to the exam material that you will be tested on as well as introduce you to pivotal aspects of Utah’s notary laws.
We recommend the National Notary Association’s state-approved packages, which come with E&O insurance, a surety bond, and the required notary tools.
Step 4: Complete a Mandatory Background Check
After you pass the Utah Notary Public Exam, you will need to complete a mandatory background check.
Simply follow the steps as indicated and submit a waiver for a criminal background check.
Don’t worry if you don’t hear back about the results of your background check, you won’t be alerted when the check has been completed so will need to continue without your results.
Step 5: Purchase a $5,000 Surety Bond
Next, you need to obtain an official notarial bond in the sum of $5,000, which has been written for a four-year term.
You can do this by contacting an insurance company licensed to issue notarial bonds or by searching for “notary bonds” online. Make sure to use the date of your commission as the date on your bond.
Note: Notary bonds should cost $50.
This bond provides protection to the Utah public from any financial losses your negligence as a notary public might cause. Surety companies cover the losses caused to the public by a notary, who later repays any funds paid out on their behalf.
Step 6: Notarize Your Oath of Office
The Oath of Office is a constitutional oath that individuals must make before assuming the duties of a notary. You will need to get your notary bond signed and this oath notarized before you can submit them alongside the other required documents to the Lieutenant Governor’s office.
You can typically find the oath of office accompanying your bond, but if you cannot find it, click here for a copy of the oath by itself.
Note: Your application will be rejected if it is submitted without a signed notary bond or notarized oath of office.
Step 7: Protect Yourself with Errors and Omissions Insurance
While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.
This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts. It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.
Step 8: Upload Required Documents
The final step in your application process is to submit these documents to the Lieutenant Governor’s Office.
Note that since mailed documents are no longer accepted, this can only be done through the Online Portal. You will be directed to this online portal once you have completed all of the steps above and uploaded.
Note: If you are having problems uploading your documents online, you can choose to email them instead.
Step 9: Obtain Notary Supplies
Finally, you’ll need to acquire your notary public supplies.
These include your notary stamp or seal (used to affix to documents), as well as your public journal.
Remember that, as a notary, you will serve a vital role in your community. This responsibility requires diligence, precision, and a high ethical standard.
Take your time, follow the steps, and prepare to provide a valuable service.
How to Become a Notary in Utah FAQ
How much does it cost to become a notary public in Utah?
Getting licensed in Utah should cost around $145. This figure covers the test and licensing fee ($95), as well as your surety bond ($50). Note that in addition to this, you will likely have to buy E&O insurance and the necessary Utah notary supplies — which can substantially increase this figure.
What are the requirements to become a notary in Utah?
Notary applicants must be at least 18 years old, maintain permanent residency in Utah, and be capable of reading and writing English. You also need to pass the Utah Notary Exam and have no felony convictions or notary commission revocations in any state in the past 10 years. To read more about the Utah notary requirements, see our article on How to Become a Notary in Utah.
Can you make money as a notary in Utah?
Yes, Utah notaries have the potential to earn large amounts, typically charging from $5 to $10 per notarized signature. However, income can vary widely based on factors such as how often you work as a notary, the types of notarizations you perform, and whether you provide mobile services, which often command higher fees.
How long does a notary commission last in Utah?
In Utah, a notary commission lasts for four years. After that, you will need to renew your commission if you wish to continue serving as a notary. Typically, this will involve repeating some steps of the initial application process, including a refresher course and reapplying through the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.
How do I become a remote online notary in Utah?
If you want to become a remote online notary, you’ll need to take and pass the Notary Public Exam in Utah, complete a mandatory background check, and then upload a signed surety bond of $5,000 in addition to a notarized oath of office to the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. For more information about the Utah notary application, see our article on How to Become a Notary.
For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.