How to Become a Notary in Nevada

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey towards a unique profession.

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Nevada, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into simple.

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies, a surety bond, and four years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($159)

Becoming a Notary in Nevada

In order to become a notary in Nevada, you will need to complete a few simple steps.

Step 1: Meet the Eligibility Requirements

In Nevada, applicants must meet the following minimum requirements to be able to obtain or renew their notary commission:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a resident of Nevada
  • Possess their civil rights (i.e., not have committed a felony)
  • Have never had their notary commission revoked in another state

Note: These requirements only make an applicant eligible to apply, they do not mean you can become a notary solely by meeting them.

Step 2: Complete the Notary Public Training Course

In Nevada, each applicant has to complete the online notary course through the State of Nevada Notary Public Training Site and achieve a passing grade on the Notary Public Commission Exam afterward.

Unlike traditional notary training, this can be completed online, though it must be done before continuing with the rest of your application.

The course lasts 3 hours. When you are ready to get started, you will need to enroll in the “(Commission Course) State of Nevada – Notary Public Course”.

If you fail the exam, you can retake it again after 24 hours.

The Notary Public Training Course costs $45, however, this is paid when you file for completion of the course at the end of your application.

Note: Once you enroll to take the exam, you must complete it within 24 hours.

Step 3: Purchase a $10,000 Surety Bond

After achieving a passing grade in your exam, the next step is to obtain a bond in the sum of $10,000. You can contact a Nevada surety bonding company for guidance on how to do this.

Next, you need to file this bond with the Office of the County Clerk:

  • For residents of Nevada — This means filing your bond with the Office of the County Clerk of the county you live in
  • For residents of an adjoining state — This means filing your bond with the Clerk of the County of the State in which you are employed in

Once your bond has been filed with the Office of the County Clerk, you will shortly be issued your oath of public office and filing notice — so keep an eye out for these!

Note: Hold onto your oath of public office and filing notice, as you will need to submit them later along with the rest of your application.

Recommended Course

Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies, a surety bond, and four years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($159)

Step 4: Complete the Notary Application

In order to complete your notary application as a new applicant, you’ll need to create an account on the SilverFlume online portal.

Navigate to the “Other Business Services” section and click on the “Notary” option. From this page, select the “Notary” dropdown menu and click on “Application for Appointment & Training Fee”.

You are required to print and physically sign your application before uploading it; if you sign your application digitally, it will be instantly rejected.

During the course of your application, you’ll need to upload your bond and the Filing Notice issued to you by the Office of the County Clerk. We’ve included an example of a Filing Notice here.

Make sure all documents are uploaded as PDFs.

To finalize your application, pay the $35 application fee and $45 notary training fee.

Note: Residents of adjoining states will also have to submit the additional documentation outlined on the Nevada Secretary of State’s website.

Step 5: Buy Your Official Notary Stamp & Other Supplies

If your application is successful, you should receive a notary Certificate of Appointment from the Secretary of State. It generally takes between two and three weeks for your application to be processed (not including shipping).

You will need to provide a certified copy of this certificate in order to buy your notary stamp and journal from an approved vendor.

Note: If your application was rejected, contact the secretary of state at NVNOTARY@SOS.NV.GOV. You will not need to pay again in order to resubmit an application.

Step 6: Protect Yourself with Errors and Omissions Insurance

While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance before you begin operating as a notary.

This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts.

It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

How to Become a Notary in Nevada FAQ

How long does it take to become a notary in Nevada?

Generally, it will take anywhere between four and six weeks for Nevada notaries to get commissioned. The Secretary of State will typically take around two to three weeks to process your application (excluding shipping), and the rest of the application process should not take up more than another three weeks. However, this time can vary greatly depending on how long the applicant takes to complete the training course and exam.

How much does it cost to become a notary in Nevada?

In Nevada, the cost to become a notary includes a $35 application fee, a $45 exam fee, and the cost of a $10,000 notary bond, which generally ranges from $50–$70. You will also need to take into account the costs of notary supplies such as seals and journals, which can vary widely in price. To read more about getting your notary commission, see our article on How to Become a Notary.

What is required to become a notary in Nevada?

To become a notary in Nevada, you must be at least 18 years old, be a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident, and reside or have a place of employment or practice in Nevada. If you meet these basic requirements, you’ll be eligible to complete the application process. To read more about this, see our article on How to Become a Notary in Nevada.

How long does a notary commission last in Nevada?

A Nevada notary commission lasts for four years, after which their commission will expire. In order to continue being able to offer notary services, individuals must renew their commission before its expiry date. This process is very similar to the initial application process and is also completed on the SilverFlume online portal.

Are remote electronic notarizations allowed in Nevada?

Yes, remote electronic notarizations have been allowed in Nevada since 2018. As an electronic notary in Nevada, you are authorized to perform electronic notarial acts. These are notarizations where the document and signatures are digital, but the notary and the signer don’t have to be in the same physical location for the electronic notarial act.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.