How to Become a Notary in Mississippi

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

How to Become a Notary in Mississippi

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey towards a unique profession.

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Mississippi, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into simple.

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies, a surety bond, and four years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($163)

Become a Notary in Mississippi

In order to become a notary in Mississippi, you will need to complete a few simple steps.

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements

In Mississippi, each notary applicant must meet the following minimum requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident
  • Be a Mississippi resident and have resided there for at least 30 days prior to applying
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Not be currently imprisoned, on probation, or on parole
  • Not have received a lifetime felony conviction (unless they’ve been pardoned by the Governor or had their voting rights restored)
  • Not have had a Notary commission revoked, suspended, restricted, or denied in Mississippi or any other state

Once confirming you meet all these requirements, you’ll be ready to move on to the next step and get started with your notary application.

Step 2: Fill Out the Application Form

The next step in this process is to complete the Application for Notary Public Commission by filling it out on your computer and then printing off the finished document.

After this, have your application notarized and return the completed document alongside the $25.00 submission fee to the following address:

Secretary of State
Business Services Division
P.O. Box 136
Jackson MS 39205-0136

Note: Pay attention to how you write your name on this form, as it will appear on your commission exactly as you enter it.

Step 3: Purchase a Surety Bond

After the Secretary of State receives your application form, they should issue you a pre-commission document containing the starting and ending dates of your prospective commission.

Use this to purchase a surety bond (or its functional equivalent) in the amount of $5,000 that commences and terminates on the dates listed on this pre-commission document.

Finally, you’ll need to take the Oath of Office in the presence of a Mississippi notary public and submit the notarized oath to the Secretary of State on SOS Form NP 003 alongside evidence of your Mississippi notary bond.

Note: You’ll have 60 days to file both of these documents with the Mississippi Secretary of State or your application will lapse and you’ll have to restart the entire process.

Step 4: Protect Yourself with Errors and Omissions Insurance

While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts. It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

Recommended Course

Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies, a surety bond, and four years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($163)

Step 5: Buy Your Notary Seal

Once the Secretary of State receives all these documents, you will be appointed as a notary public and should receive your notary commission certificate shortly via email.

You will need to present your commission certificate to official vendors in order to be able to buy your official Mississippi notary stamp, so remember to keep it safe.

When buying your official seal, make sure it contains the following pieces of information in the order they appear:

  • The words “State of Mississippi”
  • Your name as it’s written on the commission
  • The words “Notary Public”
  • The name of the county you hold office in as a notary public
  • The expiration date of your commission
  • The commission identification number assigned to you by the Secretary of State

The following is an example of an official stamp:

State of Mississippi
John Q. Doe, Notary Public
Hinds County
My commission expires July 1, 2024
Commission number 1234567

Step 6: Purchase a Course (Optional)

Even though this last step is not a legal requirement, you should note that several Mississippi notary applicants choose to invest in a notary course. This is because it can offer several benefits, such as:

  • Understanding the Law: Notary laws can be complex and vary from state to state. A course can help ensure that notaries fully understand relevant Mississippi laws and how to apply them correctly
  • Professional Development: A course can enhance professional skills, making a notary more effective and competent in their role
  • Reducing Liability: By better understanding the rules and best practices, notaries can reduce the risk of making errors that could result in legal action
  • Increased Confidence: A notary course can boost a notary’s confidence by giving them a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise to draw from
  • Staying Updated: Laws and procedures change over time. A course can help notaries stay current with any changes in notary regulations and practices

So, while it’s not mandatory in Mississippi, many aspiring notaries find value in such courses. It’s a personal decision based on individual comfort and professional goals.

How to Become a Notary in Mississippi FAQ

How much can you charge for notary services in Mississippi?

Notaries public in Mississippi can only charge up to a maximum of $5 per notarial act under state law. However, they can charge additional fees for travel costs if the signer agrees beforehand. In order to remain transparent and accountable, notaries public are generally encouraged to maintain a record of all fees they’ve charged.

How long does a notary commission last in Mississippi?

A notary commission in Mississippi lasts for four years. After the four-year period, notaries who wish to continue their services must renew their commission before its expiry date (which should be listed on their official commission certificate).

Does Mississippi allow remote online notarization?

As a response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Secretary of State began to allow remote online notarization in 2021 with House Bill 1156 as face-to-face notarization became increasingly difficult. This bill allows a notary public to perform a notarial act using digital tools and a live audio-video call.

How do I become a notary in Mississippi?

To become a notary in Mississippi, you need to be at least 18 years old, be a legal resident of the state, and be able to read and write English. For more information on the Mississippi notary requirements as well as the notary application process, see our article on How to Become a Notary in Mississippi.

Do Mississippi notaries need to take an exam?

You won’t need to complete any training or exams if you want to become a notary in Mississippi. However, a good understanding of the duties and responsibilities of a notary public will be of great benefit. For more information on the process of obtaining your notary commission, see our article on How to Become a Notary.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.