How to Become a Notary in Minnesota

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

How to Become a Notary in Minnesota

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey toward a unique profession. 

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Minnesota, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process. 

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies in addition to five years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($76)

Become a Notary in Minnesota

In order to become a notary in Minnesota, you will need to complete a few simple steps. 

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements

First and foremost, you will need to make sure that you satisfy all of the basic notary requirements of Minnesota:

  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • You must be a resident of Minnesota or a county in Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, or Wisconsin

Note: These are the minimum requirements that you’ll need to satisfy before you can actually start your application. 

Step 2: Complete Your Notary Commission Application 

After you’ve ensured that you satisfy the basic qualifying requirements of Minnesota, you will need to complete the Notary Commission Application and file it with the Minnesota Secretary of State. 

The form contains five pages; you will need to tick the “New Appointment” box, and then provide your personal information, including your:

  • Full legal name
  • Residential street address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email
  • County of residence 

On page two, you will need to provide an answer to four questions; these relate to your background and/or criminal history. 

Step 3: Submit Your Application Form

Once you’ve completed your notary commission application, you will need to submit it to the Secretary of State at the following address:

Minnesota Secretary of State — Notary
First National Bank Building
332 Minnesota St., Suite N201
Saint Paul, MN 55101

Keep in mind that a non-refundable $120 processing fee will need to be included (via check or money order). 

Step 4: Register Your Commission With the Appropriate County

If your application form is approved, a commission certificate will be sent to you via mail.

After you receive your commission, you must register it with your Minnesota county of residence and pay the $20 recording fee. 

Your resident county’s name and telephone number will be listed in the instructions portion of your commission certificate. 

If you have any questions, you can call the Secretary of State at (651) 296-2803 and press “3” for notary assistance.

Note: Failure to get your commission registered can result in a civil penalty fee.

Step 5: Protect Yourself With Errors and Omissions Insurance

While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts.

It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

Recommended Course

Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies in addition to five years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($76)

Step 6: Equip Yourself With the Necessary Supplies

Once your notary commission is approved, you will need to set yourself up with the necessary notary supplies.

These include a notary stamp or seal and a Minnesota notary public record book.

The seal is used to authenticate your notarial acts, and the notary journal is for logging all the notary services that you will be providing.

Keep in mind that purchasing a notary stamp is a legal requirement in Minnesota.

Step 7: Purchase a Course (Optional)

Even though this last step is not a legal requirement, you should note that several applicants choose to invest in a notary training course. This is because it can offer several benefits, such as:

  • Understanding the law: Notary laws can be complex and vary from state to state. A course can help ensure that notaries fully understand Minnesota notary laws and how to apply them correctly
  • Professional development: A course can enhance professional skills, making a notary more effective and competent in their role
  • Reducing liability: By better understanding the rules and best practices, notaries can reduce the risk of making errors that could result in legal action
  • Increased confidence: A notary course can boost a notary’s confidence by giving them a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise to draw from
  • Staying updated: Laws and procedures change over time. A course can help notaries stay current with any changes in notary regulations and practices

So, while it’s not mandatory in Minnesota, many aspiring notaries find value in such courses. It’s a personal decision based on individual comfort and professional goals.

How to Become a Notary in Minnesota FAQ

How much does it cost to become a notary in Minnesota?

The cost of filing your notary commission application is $120. Having said that, your total cost will likely be higher; this is because you will need to purchase E&O insurance and notary supplies (e.g., a notary stamp, etc.). You may also decide to purchase a training course in order to improve your understanding of notary law.

How long does it take to be a notary in Minnesota?

Generally speaking, it should take you between two and six weeks to become a notary in Minnesota. Having said that, it should be noted that the Secretary of State does not offer an exact timeline. For more information, see our How to Become a Notary in Minnesota article.

Can you make money as a Minnesota notary?

Yes, you can. However, you should keep in mind that Minnesota notaries are statutorily prohibited from charging more than $5 per document while performing notarial acts. Additional services can be offered in order to supplement your income as a notary (e.g., operating as a notary signing agent, etc.). For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Become a Notary article.

What do you have to do to be a notary in Minnesota?

In order to become a notary in Minnesota, you will need to satisfy the minimum requirements of the state (e.g., be at least 18 years old, be a resident, etc.), and then file an application with the Secretary of State. 
Keep in mind that you’ll need to pay a $120 processing fee while filing your application. Note: You will likely need to complete additional training if you are interested in commencing a loan signing career.

Can I operate as a remote online notary public in Minnesota?

Yes. You will be able to perform remote online notarization services so long as you are an already-commissioned notary in the state of Minnesota and are already capable of notarizing documents electronically. You will then need to request authorization to operate as an electronic notary. Keep in mind that the individual whose signature is being notarized will still need to be physically present in accordance with state law.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.