How to Become a Notary in Michigan

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

How to Become a Notary in Michigan

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey towards a unique profession.

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Michigan, we lay out the roadmap to achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into simple.

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required items like your surety bond, as well as six years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($145)

Become a Notary in Michigan

In order to become a notary in Michigan, you will need to complete a few simple steps.

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements

First and foremost, make sure that you satisfy all essential Michigan notary requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a legal resident of or maintain a place of business in Michigan
  • Be a resident of or maintain a place of business in the county in which you will request appointment
  • Be free of any felony convictions in the last 10 years
  • Have not been convicted of three or more misdemeanor offenses involve a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within a five year period

Note: Applications from users with felony convictions will automatically be denied.

Step 2: Purchase a $10,000 Surety Bond

In accordance with Michigan law, you will be required to purchase and maintain a $10,000 Surety Bond for the entire duration of your six-year commission.

This protects the general public from any liability that could arise as a result of any misconduct or negligence on your part.

Keep in mind that you will not need to purchase a surety bond if you are currently an attorney that is in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan.

Note: A notary bond ONLY protects the public from potential financial harm. To ensure that you are also protected, it’s a good idea to consider investing in an Errors and Omissions (E&O) policy.

This is a type of insurance that provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts. It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

Recommended Course

Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required items like your surety bond, as well as six years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($145)

Step 3: Complete Your Notary Application

Next, you will need to complete your Application for Michigan Notary Public Commission.

This can be done online through the Michigan Department of State’s website, or by mail (Form 98).

After you’ve included your personal details and checked all required boxes, you will need to take your completed application (as well as your surety bond) to the county clerk’s office.

For a $10 fee, the Clerk will file your bond, administer an Oath, and return the application to you. You will then need to mail the original, completed application (alongside an additional $10 processing fee) to following address:

Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

Your Michigan notary certificate will then be emailed to you from the following email address: Noreply-CARS@Michigan.gov.

Note: We recommend applying for your Michigan notary commission online. This is because your filings will be processed within two weeks, whereas this will take between four and six weeks for mailed filings.

Step 4: Read the Michigan Notary Public Act

Even though you will not need to sit an exam in order to become a notary in Michigan, the Department of State does mandate that every notary reads the Michigan Notary Public Act before they begin operating.

This contains the legal guidelines and regulations that govern the roles, responsibilities, and conduct of notaries public in the state of Michigan.

Step 5: Equip Yourself With the Necessary Supplies

Once your notary commission is approved and you’ve purchased your E&O coverage, the final step will be to actually purchase your notary supplies.

These include a notary stamp or seal, as well as a notary record book or journal.

The seal is used to authenticate your notarial acts, and the record book is for logging all the services you provide.

Step 6: Purchase a Course (Optional)

Even though this last step is not a legal requirement, you should note that several Michigan notary applicants choose to invest in a notary course. This is because it can offer several benefits, such as:

  • Understanding the Law: Notary laws can be complex and vary from state to state. A course can help ensure that notaries fully understand Michigan notary laws and how to apply them correctly
  • Professional Development: A course can enhance professional skills, making a notary more effective and competent in their role
  • Reducing Liability: By better understanding the rules and best practices, notaries can reduce the risk of making errors that could result in legal action
  • Increased Confidence: A notary course can boost a notary’s confidence by giving them a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise to draw from
  • Staying Updated: Laws and procedures change over time. A course can help notaries stay current with any changes in notary regulations and practices

So, while it’s not mandatory in Michigan, many aspiring notaries find value in such courses. It’s a personal decision based on individual comfort and professional goals, and can be done before or after you receive your notary commission certificate.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required items like your surety bond, as well as six years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($145)

How to Become a Notary in Michigan FAQ

How much does it cost to get a notary license in Michigan?

In order to become a notary in Michigan, you will need to pay a $10 fee to the county clerk (in order to administer your oath, etc.), as well as a $10 processing fee when filing your application. You will also need to purchase a $10,000 notary bond ($50), E&O insurance, and your notary supplies (e.g., Michigan notary stamp, etc.).

How much is a $10,000 surety bond in Michigan?

The cost of a $10,000 surety bond in Michigan will usually depend on several issues, such as the issuing company that you go with and your creditworthiness. Having said that, all notary candidates can purchase their bond from the National Notary Association for a $50 fee.

Can you be an online notary in Michigan?

Yes you can. Having said that, keep in mind that you will need to adhere to all of the requirements which are set forth in the Michigan Law of Notarial Acts (MiLONA). Have a look at our How to Become a Notary article for more information.

How much can a notary charge in Michigan?

In accordance with Michigan law, a notary in the state cannot charge a client more than $10 per notarial act. Having said that, it’s worth noting that notaries usually carry out additional services in order to supplement their income. Keep in mind you will not be able to become a Michigan notary if you were incarcerated in a state, county, or federal correctional facility in the past 12 months.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.