How to Become a Notary in Maine

Written by: Nik Ventouris

Last updated:

Looking to make a difference in your community? Let us guide you on a rewarding journey toward a unique profession. 

In this comprehensive guide on how to become a notary in Maine, we lay out the roadmap for achieving this goal. With easy-to-follow, actionable steps, we’ll help you navigate this intriguing process, turning the complex into the simple. 

Whether you’re looking to serve your community or generate additional income, this article will offer everything you need to know to get started.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies as well as seven years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($104)

Become a Notary in Maine

In order to become a notary in Maine, you will need to complete a few simple steps. 

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements

First and foremost, you will need to make sure that you meet all of the essential Maine notary requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Be a resident of Maine or of an adjacent state who is regularly employed or conducts business in Maine.
  • Know how to read and write in English.
  • Not have had your notary commission revoked or suspended as a result of official misconduct in Maine or in another jurisdiction in the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime that carried a sentence of imprisonment for one year or more, or a lesser offense that’s incompatible with the duties of a notary in the last 10 years.

Note: These are the minimum requirements that you’ll need to satisfy before you can actually start your application. 

Step 2: Complete Your Application for a Notary Public Commission

After you’ve ensured that you satisfy the basic requirements of qualifying for a notary in Maine, you will be ready to start completing your Application for a Notary Public Commission for a Maine Resident.

This is a five-page document. While completing it, you will need to provide the following information:

  • Your full legal name
  • Your town of residence
  • Your home and mailing address
  • Your phone number, work phone, and email address
  • Your date of birth

Pages two and three contain the exam that you will need to pass in order to qualify; this has 19 questions and is titled “Notarial Law and Practices Knowledge Examination.” 

Keep in mind that Section C (page four) must be signed in the presence of an already-commissioned Maine notary public. 

Section D (also page four) is meant to verify your residency, and as such will need to be completed and signed by the Municipal Clerk or Registrar of Voters of your municipality. 

Section E (page five) will need to be completed by a registered Maine voter (other than yourself) who is willing and able to attest to your ability to perform the duties required of a notary public. 

Step 3: Pay the Filing Fee and Submit Your Application

After you’ve completed your application form, you will need to pay a $50 commission fee and mail it to the Maine Secretary of State at the following address:

Maine Secretary of State
Division of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
UCC Section
101 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333-0101

After you are approved, you will receive a Certificate of Qualification (i.e., an oath of office form) and a notice that describes the process that you will have to follow in order to get sworn into office. Keep in mind that the date of your appointment will appear on the front of your Certificate of Qualification.

You will need to appear before a Dedimus Justice within 30 days of when you receive your appointment; after your oath of office is administered, the Dedimus Justice will complete your Certificate of Qualification.

Note: You will need to return your completed certificate to the Secretary of State within 45 days of when you were initially notified of your appointment/approval.

After the Secretary of State receives your completed certificate, a Certificate of Office will be mailed to you.

Step 4: Protect Yourself With Errors and Omissions Insurance

While not required by law, it’s a good idea to consider protecting yourself with Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

This type of insurance provides coverage for any potential mistakes or omissions that you might make as you perform notarial acts.

It’s an extra layer of protection that can give you peace of mind while operating for a relatively low opportunity cost.

Recommended Course

Have a look at the National Notary Association’s packages, which include all state-required notary supplies as well as seven years of notary hotline phone support.

4.5 out of 5 starsNational Notary Association ($104)

Step 6: Equip Yourself With the Necessary Supplies

Once your notary commission is approved, get yourself set up with the necessary notary supplies. These include a notary stamp or seal and a Maine notary record book.

The seal is used to authenticate your notarial acts, and the record book is for logging all the services you provide.

Keep in mind that a notary journal is actually legally required for marriage-related services.

Step 7: Purchase a Course (Optional)

Even though this last step is not a legal requirement, you should note that several Maine notary applicants choose to invest in a notary course. This is because it can offer several benefits, such as:

  • Understanding the law: Notary laws can be complex and vary from state to state. A course can help ensure that notaries fully understand Maine notary laws and how to apply them correctly
  • Professional development: A course can enhance professional skills, making a notary more effective and competent in their role
  • Reducing liability: By better understanding the rules and best practices, notaries can reduce the risk of making errors that could result in legal action
  • Increased confidence: A notary course can boost a notary’s confidence by giving them a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise to draw from
  • Staying updated: Laws and procedures change over time. A course can help notaries stay current with any changes in notary regulations and practices

So, while it’s not mandatory in Maine, many aspiring notaries find value in such courses. The Secretary of State additionally recommends that notaries take up courses in order to ensure they remain qualified to perform notarial acts.

How to Become a Notary in Maine FAQ

How do you become a notary in Maine?

In order to become a notary public in Maine, you will need to satisfy the basic qualifying requirements of the state, file an application via mail, and pay the $50 filing fee. Keep in mind that you will need to complete certain parts of your form in front of an already-commissioned notary. Note: New Hampshire residents seeking appointment will need to complete Form No. Notary-NH instead.

How much can you charge as a notary in Maine?

There is no statutory cap on how much Maine notaries public can charge for standard notarial acts. Regardless, most notaries choose to supplement their income by offering additional notary services (i.e., operating as a notary signing agent). For more information, see our How to Become a Notary article.

Does the state of Maine require a notary seal?

No, according to the Maine Secretary of State’s office, notaries public in Maine can choose to use an embossing or ink seal or a stamp with their name and commission expiration date, however, this is optional. Keep in mind that, albeit optional, the state continues to recommend purchasing a seal.

How do I renew my notary license in Maine?

You can renew your notary commission in Maine through the Secretary of State’s Total Notary Solution Online Renewal portal. Keep in mind that, when renewing your commission, you will be required to take an online version of the Notary Public and Practices Knowledge Examination. You will also need to pay a $50 renewal fee.

For all related articles, have a look at our How to Become a Notary page.