If you’re getting near your Hawaii insurance license renewal date, keep your license active by taking your Hawaii insurance continuing education (CE) courses in advance of your expiration date.
This guide will provide you all the information you need to ensure you fulfill your HI insurance license renewal and insurance CE requirements on time.
|Hawaii Insurance License Renewal and CE Requirements|
|Expiration Time||Every 2 years|
|Required Continuing Education (CE)||24 credit hours|
|Renewal Cost||$100 per license + CE course cost|
|Recommended CE Course||Kaplan Education Company|
Hawaii Insurance Continuing Education
In order to keep your Hawaii insurance license in good standing with the state, you will need to renew your license by completing your Hawaii Insurance CE requirements before your expiration date.
In Hawaii, insurance licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the 16th day of your birth month, biennially, based on the anniversary of your original license year. This means that if you were licensed in an even-numbered year, your license will expire on the 16th day of your birth month in the next even-numbered year.
Hawaii Insurance Continuing Education Courses
Insurance CE comes in many forms. Most folks nowadays choose to take a self-paced course online, but you can also complete your credit hours by attending an in-person class or even a scheduled online webinar.
For Hawaii insurance CE courses and credits, StateRequirement recommends:
The most common method of continuing education today. These CE courses allow you to log in to an online platform any time of day to complete your credit hours. Most of these courses are a mixture of video and text combined with a knowledge exam at the end. Some platforms even allow you to take the course from your phone, which could be useful if you’re short on computer time.
This is how continuing education courses all began. Join your fellow insurance license holders for a live class taught by an industry professional. You may be able to find a “school” that provides all of your state’s required credits in a few full-day classes, or you might also take some shorter sessions to fill part of your requirements.
Scheduled Online Webinar
This is essentially the same as an in-person class, except you don’t have to travel away from your home or office. You will be taught by an instructor who will deliver the lesson at a specified time. Many webinars even allow you to interact with the instructor if you have specific questions.
Most courses certify completion by taking either a knowledge exam at the end or by counting attendance to all of the scheduled classes. If you want to save time, it’s best to go with a self-paced course. If you want no exam, try an in-person class or an online webinar.
Hawaii Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The Hawaii Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs – Insurance Division requires that all insurance producers and agents complete their continuing education requirements before their expiration date. In Hawaii, these requirements include:
- Twenty-four (24) total hours of Hawaii insurance continuing education every renewal period, which is two (2) years
- Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of Hawaii Insurance Laws or ethics
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to take double hours. Your total amount of CE credit hours due is still twenty-four (24).
Once you completed the insurance CE course, your CE course provider will send a certificate of completion to the Hawaii Insurance Division. Make sure to keep a printed copy of your certificate for your records.
It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
Hawaii Insurance License Renewal
After you have completed your continuing education requirements, you may renew your Hawaii insurance license to keep it active.
Follow the steps below to complete your Hawaii insurance license renewal requirements ahead of your expiration date.
Step 1: Complete Hawaii Insurance License Continuing Education
Follow the steps above to complete your required 24 hours of CE.
Step 2: Apply for Hawaii Insurance License Renewal
According to the Hawaii Insurance Division, you may renew your Hawaii insurance license by logging into NIPR. Choose the account where you signed up for during your Hawaii insurance license application. NIPR charges $5.60 for processing.
You may also use eHawaii Insurance License Extension/Renewal online service. The Hawaii Insurance Division provides no charge for processing, so it’s recommended to renew your license more than 60 days before your license expiration date.
Step 3: Pay the Hawaii Insurance License Renewal Fee
The renewal fee is $100 per line of authority. To avoid paying late renewal fees, you must complete CE hours and apply for renewal at least 60 days before your license expires. The late fee is $300 per line of authority.
Pay the renewal fees via NIPR or eHawaii Insurance License Extension/Renewal online service by credit card, electronic check, or your chosen online payment system.
Once you complete the steps above before your expiration date, you can renew your license in Hawaii.
You’ve taken the steps you need to take and now your insurance license is good for another two years!
What Happens If My Insurance License Expires In Hawaii?
In Hawaii, the Hawaii Insurance Division will send you via email a renewal notice within 90 days before your license expires. If you don’t renew your license on time, there will be a $300 late renewal fee.
There is no continuing education “grace period”. Not meeting your CE requirements prevents you from renewing your insurance license. Once your license expiration date has passed, you will be charged with penalties by the state.
You can request an extension to complete CE hours in Hawaii if you:
- have a good cause (like long-term illness or disability).
- are on extended active military duty.
You can submit a written request to the Hawaii Insurance Division’s Insurance Commissioner explaining the reason for your request at least 90 days prior to your licensee’s renewal date.
Hawaii Insurance License Lookup
You can look up the status of your Hawaii insurance CE credits and Hawaii insurance license renewal by using these resources:
- View your current accrued CE credits using the eHawaii CE Course Verification tool.
- Check your renewal status via NIPR or the eHawaii License Number Search.
- If you don’t know your insurance license number (National Producer Number or NPN), you can find your name via the eHawaii License Search.
- If you need proof that you have renewed your license in Hawaii, you can ask for a letter of certification by sending the Request for Letter of Certification/Letter of Clearance (Form LC) to the Hawaii Insurance Division.
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs – Insurance Division Contact Information
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 3614
Honolulu, Hawaii 96811
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
335 Merchant Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 586-2790
Fax: (808) 586-2806
Hawaii Insurance License Renewal FAQ
How often do I need to renew my Hawaii insurance license?
In Hawaii, the expiration date or renewal date is most often based on the requirement to complete continuing education (CE) hours every two years. You must renew by this date and meet your CE hours. You can find out when you need to renew your insurance license on the front of the license itself. The expiration date will be printed directly on the license. Make sure that you renew your insurance before this date.
How much does it cost to renew my Hawaii insurance license?
Hawaii charges a $100 renewal fee + CE provider cost. Check on Hawaii’s requirements to learn more about the costs you can expect to renew your insurance license. Renewing your insurance license through the NIPR (National Insurance Producer Registry) comes with a $5.60 processing fee. If you will renew your license via eHawaii Insurance License Extension/Renewal online service, there isn’t a processing fee although other fees may apply.
What are the continuing education requirements for Hawaii in renewing my insurance license?
You should check with the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs – Insurance Division to determine how many hours you need and if there are restrictions on what kind of CE will be accepted. Continuing education topics include insurance policies, ethics, insurance law, and more. Some topics apply to all insurance agents, such as claims and tax updates. Other classes will be geared toward specific lines, such as property and casualty or life and health. See above to find out more about Hawaii Insurance CE courses and requirements.
How do I document the completion of my continuing education courses?
Sending in course completion paperwork to the state is typically the responsibility of the course provider. As the individual taking the course, you will not need to send in documentation. If you want to check your continuing education progress and make sure that all completed courses are in your state file, you can use your state’s online system to look up license information, including continuing education completion.
What is NPN for an insurance agent?
You will need your National Producer Number, or NPN, to renew your insurance license. This number is assigned to each individual working in insurance when they are first licensed. If you are unsure of your NPN, you can look it up on the National Insurance Producer Registry using your license number or social security number.