Keeping your Hawaii adjuster license in good standing with the state is simple.
This article gives step-by-step instructions on how to complete your continuing education and renewal application in the state of Hawaii.
How To Renew Your Hawaii Insurance Adjuster License
Hawaii adjuster license renewal is required of all license-holders every two (2) years before the expiration date. The expiration date of your license is set on the 16th day of your birth month based on the anniversary of your original license year.
If you were born in an even-numbered year, then your license will need to be renewed in even numbered years. If you were born in an odd numbered year, then you will renew in odd numbered years.
Follow these simple steps to renew your Hawaii adjuster license:
Step 1. Complete Your Hawaii Adjuster Continuing Education
In Hawaii, you are not required to complete hours of continuing education (CE) coursework to upkeep your adjuster license.
Your continuing education hours are completed by taking adjuster CE courses. These courses are generally held online and taken on a self-paced basis.
There are some instances where you may find in-person continuing education courses available, so find what suits you best and get your hours in before your expiration date.
It’s best to finish your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give the CE company time to report your hours to the Hawaii Department of Insurance.
Most CE providers use your license number and NPN number to automatically report your CE hours to the state. If you take an in-person course or an online class from a lesser-known company, be sure to ask if they report your hours when your course is completed.
If you’re not sure what your license number or NPN number is, use the Hawaii Insurance License Lookup tool.
Step 2. Apply for your Hawaii Adjuster License Renewal
After you have completed your adjuster continuing education, you will renew your Hawaii adjuster license online through an application on NIPR’s website.
There is an $90 fee to renew your Hawaii adjuster license.
After you complete your renewal application, the Hawaii Insurance Department will email you once your license renewal has been approved or if you need to submit other documents.
You are not required to retake the adjuster license exam on renewal, although your continuing education course may require you to take a short knowledge quiz to complete your CE hours.
Renewal After Expiration
If you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, but you haven’t yet renewed, you may still be able to renew. This comes down to how much time has lapsed since your expiration date.
Within 30 Days
If you complete your continuing education and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $90 renewal fee, plus a $45 late penalty fee, for a total of $135 in fees.
Over 30 Days
If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $135 fee.
Hawaii Adjuster License Continuing Education Requirements
You must complete:
- Twenty-Four (24) total hours of continuing education
- Three (3) hours of the total must be in the subject of Ethics or Hawaii Insurance Laws
You can find how many hours you have completed using the Hawaii Adjuster Continuing Education Lookup tool.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Hawaii Department of Insurance Contact Information
Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs Insurance Division
King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Phone: (808) 586-2790
Fax: (334) 240-3282
Email: [email protected]
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in March 2021.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More