Getting your Georgia property and casualty (P&C) license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in Georgia.
The Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner requires you to complete a six-step process to obtain yourP&C license — from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How To Get Your Georgia Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a Georgia Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Take the Georgia Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $63)
- Complete a Citizenship Affidavit
- Complete a Georgia License Application (Sircon or the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $200 application fee + $20 processing fee + $5.60 transaction fee)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (Gemalto – $53)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps To Get a Georgia Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your Georgia P&C license is easy. Just follow these six simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Georgia life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Georgia Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the Georgia P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
Georgia requires P&C license applicants to complete a 40-hour pre-licensing course. A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Take the Georgia Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing education course and/or your own independent study, it’s time to take the Georgia P&C license exam.
Georgia uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The Georgia P&C insurance exam:
- Includes a total of 125 scored questions that cover 10 parts including policy types, insurance terms and related concepts, policy provisions and contract law, and rules, regulations, and codes related to property and casualty insurance.
- Gives you 150 minutes to complete the test. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $63, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the Georgia P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail the Georgia P&C insurance exam, you must wait 24 hours before scheduling a time to retake the test. If you receive a failing score on your second attempt, you must wait two weeks before you can take the exam again.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 3: Complete a Citizenship Affidavit
You must submit a notarized Citizenship Affidavit Form (GID-276-EN) to prove your U.S. citizenship. Complete the affidavit, make a copy of your identification document from the list provided, and have the form properly notarized.
Step 4: Complete a Georgia License Application
Once you pass the P&C insurance exam and complete your citizenship affidavit, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In Georgia, you must apply online via Sircon or the NIPR. The application fee is $200. Additional fees include a $20 processing fee (which is charged for each license class offered to an individual license applicant in Georgia) and a $5.60 transaction fee (both Sircon and the NIPR).
The Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application within 12 months of passing the exam.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in Georgia, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the Georgia Insurance Code.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to email@example.com.
NoteIn Georgia, Pearson VUE is the primary contact for all inquiries about insurance agents and agency licensing as well as continuing education.
Step 5: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you apply for your P&C license, you must get a fingerprint-based background check from Gemalto. Gemalto manages Live Scan fingerprinting for the state via the electronic Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS). You must scan your fingerprints electronically because the Georgia Office of the Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner doesn’t accept inked fingerprint cards.
The fee for fingerprinting services is $53 to cover the cost of comparing your prints against criminal history records.
After registering at Gemalto’s website, you’ll receive a registration approval email from the company. Print your registration receipt and bring a copy of it to the fingerprinting site for inspection. Gemalto won’t take your fingerprints without that receipt.
Step 6: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous five steps, the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner will review your application and background check. If there’s an issue with your application, a Pearson VUE representative will contact you through email. Pearson VUE is the primary contact for all inquiries about Georgia Agents & Agency Licensing.
Once your application is approved, you’ll receive your license via email through Sircon’s automated system or you can check the NIPR’s “Check Your Application or Transaction Status” tool.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in Georgia.
Next Steps After Securing Your Georgia Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Georgia P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN). You can request a letter of certification, which proves you have a P&C license in Georgia, by visiting the Sircon website. You’ll need to submit this letter along with your job applications.
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In Georgia, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to renew your P&C license. Georgia CE requirements state that three of those hours must focus on ethics or consumer protection.
If you have a non-resident license that meets CE requirements in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Georgia. To find out if you need to take Georgia CE courses, contact the Pearson VUE CE team at:
Agents: firstname.lastname@example.org or (888) 274-1212
Providers: email@example.com or (800) 475-8304
To avoid delays in renewing your license, you must complete the required CE hours at least 60 days before your license expires. The renewal fee is $100 plus a $5 processing fee. The late fee is $115. You can apply for license renewal on the NIPR or Sircon websites.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our Georgia insurance license renewal guide.
Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner Contact Information
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.
West Tower, Suite 702
Atlanta, GA 30334
Note: In Georgia, Pearson VUE is the primary contact for all inquiries about insurance agents and agency licensing as well as continuing education.
Phone: Pearson VUE Georgia (800) 274-8969
License Search: Georgia Insurance License Lookup
Georgia Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in Georgia?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in Georgia is at least $530.60, but can exceed $700 based on the type of pre-license course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Exam Fee: $63 via Pearson VUE
- Application Fee: $200 application fee + $20 processing fee + $5.60 transaction fee via Sircon or the NIPR
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $53 via Gemalto
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in Georgia?
This process typically takes 14 business days. You’ll receive an email once the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in Georgia?
Yes. Georgia provides a six-month temporary P&C insurance license. To apply, visit the Sircon website and select “Apply for a License” from the available options. You must have a sponsoring insurer and agent for this license type. Attach a completed Sponsoring Insurer/Agent Certification Form to your license application.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in Georgia?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in Georgia.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in Georgia?
With a Georgia P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in Georgia?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a Georgia property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a Georgia P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in Georgia?
Yes. To cancel your license, complete the License Cancellation Form – State of Georgia. No fee is required.
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in Georgia?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in March 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More