Getting your Florida property and casualty (P&C) license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in Florida.
The Florida Department of Financial Services (DFS) requires you to complete a five-step process to obtain yourP&C license — from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How To Get Your Florida Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a Florida Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (IdentoGO – $48.05 + local Florida county sales tax)
- Complete a Florida License Application (Florida’s MyProfile System – $50 application fee + $5 license ID fee)
- Take the Florida Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $44)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps To Get a Florida Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your Florida P&C license is easy. Just follow these five simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Florida life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Florida Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the Florida P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
Florida requires a 200-hour pre-licensing education course in general lines P&C insurance, approved by the Florida DFS, completed within four years of a candidate’s license application date. A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you complete your pre-license education course, you must get a fingerprint-based background check from IdentoGO before you apply for a license. The fee for fingerprinting services is $48.05 plus the local Florida county sales tax to cover the costs of a fingerprint-based, criminal history record check.
You must register for a Live Scan fingerprinting appointment and go to the nearest IdentoGO location to electronically submit your fingerprints. Once you submit your fingerprints via IdentoGO, the Live Scan system will electronically send them to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). The FDLE will then electronically submit the results of your fingerprint-based background check to the Florida DFS.
Step 3: Complete a Florida License Application
Once you complete a fingerprint-based background check, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In Florida, you must apply online via Florida’s MyProfile system. The application fee is $50 plus a $5 license ID fee for a total of $55.
The Florida Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services (IAAS) will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. Once you submit your application, the Florida Division of IAAS will notify you of your license or application status by email through your Florida MyProfile account.
To apply for a P&C insurance license in Florida, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the Florida Insurance Code, the Florida Administrative Code, and Florida’s pre-licensing rules.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com. After receiving your license, your MyProfile account is where you’ll take most other actions regarding your license.
Step 4: Take the Florida Licensing Exam
After you apply for your P&C insurance license via your Florida MyProfile account, it’s time to take the Florida P&C license exam.
Florida uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The Florida P&C (general lines property and casualty) insurance exam:
- Includes a total of 160 scored questions that cover two sections: general and state-specific knowledge. The general section deals with basic property and casualty insurance product knowledge. The state-specific section covers P&C insurance concepts and terms, rules, regulations, and practices specific to Florida.
- Gives you 180 minutes to complete the test. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $44, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the Florida P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail the Florida P&C insurance exam, you must schedule a time to retake it by visiting Pearson VUE and pay another exam fee. Florida has a limit of five attempts on the same exam type during a 12-month period.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 5: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous four steps, the Florida DFS will review your application and fingerprint-based background check.
Once it completes that review, you’ll receive a notification in your Florida MyProfile account. If you need to provide any additional information to the state, you’ll receive a notification of this in your account as well.
You also may use your Florida MyProfile account as a Florida insurance license search tool to find and print your license.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in Florida.
Next Steps After Securing Your Florida Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Florida P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN).
Secure Your Official License Appointment
An appointment is an authority given by an insurer or employer to a licensee to sell insurance on behalf of an insurer or employer.
You can’t transact as an insurance agent in Florida unless you’re officially appointed as a P&C insurance agent/producer. An insurance company must appoint you to this role through the state’s eAppoint industry portal.
The fee for your license appointment is $60, which is paid by the insurer. Your license will expire if you remain unappointed for 48 months.
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In Florida, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to renew your P&C license. Florida CE requirements for a general lines P&C insurance license state that four of those hours must focus on law and ethics while the other 20 hours should include elective credits.
If you have a non-resident license with good standing in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Florida.
Your Florida MyProfile account also will indicate this 24-hour CE requirement. While Florida doesn’t require you to renew an insurance license, you need to keep your license current by completing the required CE credits. Your CE course provider will report your course completion to the Florida Division of IAAS within 21 days of completion.
To check your CE requirements and status, go to your Florida MyProfile account, log in, and click on “CE Status.” Contact the Florida Division of IAAS at AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com if you have any questions.
Learn how to renew your license with our Florida insurance license renewal guide.
Florida Department of Financial Services Contact Information
Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services
Bureau of Licensing
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Phone: (850) 413-3137
License Search: Florida Insurance Licensee Search
Florida Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in Florida?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in Florida is at least $336.05 but can reach nearly $500 based on the type of pre-license course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $48.05 + local Florida county sales tax via IdentoGO
- Application Fee: $50 application fee + $5 license ID fee via Florida’s MyProfile System
- Exam Fee: $44 via Pearson VUE
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in Florida?
The time it’ll take to process your application depends on the Florida Division of IAAS review process. Once you complete your application, you’ll receive a notification in your Florida MyProfile account.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in Florida?
Yes. Florida provides a temporary P&C insurance license that’s valid for six months. To apply for this temporary license, you must register for a Florida MyProfile account and pay the license application fee ($50 + $5 license ID fee). You’ll also need to pay a fingerprinting fee ($48.05) to the state’s fingerprint vendor.
Once you submit your application, you can check the status via your Florida MyProfile account. The Florida Division of IAAS will send your approval by email. You may then go to your Florida MyProfile account and print your license.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in Florida?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in Florida.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in Florida?
With a Florida P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in Florida?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a Florida property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a Florida P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in Florida?
Yes. To cancel your license, log in to your Florida MyProfile account. You’ll need to terminate your appointments first. An appointment is your registration with the Florida DFS, Division of IAAS that you’re acting on behalf of an insurance company/insurer as an agent. Then you may surrender your license.
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in Florida?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in March 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More