How To Renew Your Insurance License In Arizona
In Arizona, insurance licenses expire every four years. The expiration will be on the last day of your birth month, between the third and fourth years from the date of issuance, and based on the anniversary of your original license year. If you have added any other lines to your license, they will expire on the same day as the original license.
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
If this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.
Step 1. Arizona Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The State of Arizona requires that resident individual licensees complete forty-eight (48) credit hours of continuing education every four year renewal period. Six (6) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics. Credits cannot include the same course taken repeatedly in one reporting period.
It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to complete double the hours.
You may take your continuing education courses either in person in a classroom setting or online as a self-paced course. The online courses usually require a reading of the subject at hand, then a test at the end.
Upon completion of these courses, the company who you took the course should send the certificate of completion directly to the state. You should, however, print a copy of this certificate to keep in your records just in case there is a dispute later.
Step 2. Renew Your Insurance License In Arizona
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Arizona insurance license online by using the Arizona State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool.
You may also print a paper renewal form from the Arizona Department of Insurance.
There is a fee of $120 per application to renew your license.
Once this process is complete, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be four years from your previous expiration date.
Arizona Insurance License Lookup
You can view your current accrued CE credits using the Arizona State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool.
If you don’t know your insurance license number, you can inquire online through the Arizona State Information Center.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Arizona Department of Insurance Contact Information
Arizona Department of Insurance
100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 261
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2630
Phone: (602) 364-4457
Email: [email protected]
Ready for more?
- Get tips and tricks to ace your insurance exam | How To Pass The Insurance Exam
- Take a pre-license course to prepare for the test | Kaplan Pre-License Course
- Get 10% off your pre-license or continuing education course | Insurance Pre-License Course Coupon
- Learn what it takes to become an insurance agent | How to Become an Insurance Agent
- Learn about securities licensing for insurance agents | Securities Licensing
- Find CE requirements for insurance agents | Insurance Continuing Education
- Looking for a new position? Check out StateRequirement Jobs - a job board just for insurance professionals | Insurance Job Board
- Find what it takes to become a real estate agent | Real Estate Licensing
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in January 2021.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More