Keeping your Arizona adjuster license in good standing with the state is simple.
This article gives step-by-step instructions on how to complete your continuing education and renewal application in the state of Arizona.
How To Renew Your Arizona Insurance Adjuster License
Arizona adjuster license renewal is required of all license-holders every four (4) years before the expiration date. The expiration date of your license is set as the last day of your birth month.
If you were born in an even-numbered year, then your license will need to be renewed in even numbered years. If you were born in an odd numbered year, then you will renew in odd numbered years.
Example:If you were born on July 7 1986 and got your Arizona adjuster license in 2019, your first expiration date would be on July 31st, 2022. After that, your next renewal period would be a full four (4) years, ending on July 31st, 2026.
Your license expiration date is not affected by the date in which you originally obtained your license. With that being the case, your first renewal period may not be a full four years.
Follow these simple steps to renew your Arizona adjuster license:
Step 1. Complete Your Arizona Adjuster Continuing Education
In Arizona, you are not required to complete hours of continuing education (CE) to upkeep your adjuster license.
Your continuing education hours are completed by taking adjuster CE courses. These courses are generally held online and taken on a self-paced basis.
There are some instances where you may find in-person continuing education courses available, so find what suits you best and get your hours in before your expiration date.
It’s best to finish your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give the CE company time to report your hours to the Arizona Department of Insurance.
Most CE providers use your license number and NPN number to automatically report your CE hours to the state. If you take an in-person course or an online class from a lesser-known company, be sure to ask if they report your hours when your course is completed.
If you’re not sure what your license number or NPN number is, use the Arizona Insurance License Lookup tool.
Step 2. Apply for your Arizona Adjuster License Renewal
After you have completed your adjuster continuing education, you will renew your Arizona adjuster license online through an application on NIPR’s website.
There is a $120 fee to renew your Arizona adjuster license.
After you complete your renewal application, the Arizona Insurance Department will email you once your license renewal has been approved or if you need to submit other documents.
You are not required to retake the adjuster license exam on renewal, although your continuing education course may require you to take a short knowledge quiz to complete your CE hours.
Renewal After Expiration
If you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, but you haven’t yet renewed, you may still be able to renew. This comes down to how much time has lapsed since your expiration date.
Within 30 Days
If you complete your continuing education and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $120 renewal fee, plus a $220 late penalty fee, for a total of $340 in fees.
Over 30 Days
If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $340 fee.
You can find how many hours you have completed using the Sircon Adjuster Continuing Education Lookup tool.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Arizona Department of Insurance Contact Information
Arizona Department of Insurance
100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 261
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2630
Phone: (602) 364-4457
Email: [email protected]
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in March 2021.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More