How to Get a Life Insurance License in Alaska

Written by: Mary Gerardine

    Getting your Alaska life insurance license is the first step toward becoming a life insurance agent. If you want to market and sell life insurance policies, follow this step-by-step guide for obtaining life insurance licensing in Alaska.

    The Alaska Division of Insurance requires you to complete a six-step process to obtain your life insurance license — from taking the life insurance exam to applying for a license.

    These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.

     

     

    How To Get Your Alaska Life Insurance License – Quick Version

    1. Complete an Alaska Insurance Prelicense Course (ExamFX – $189+)
    2. Take the Alaska Life Insurance Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $89)
    3. Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (IdentoGO – $15 + Alaska Division of Insurance FBI processing fee – $48.25)
    4. Complete an Alaska Life Insurance License Application (National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $75 application fee + $5 transaction fee)
    5. Mail Your Fingerprint Card
    6. Watch for Your Application Results

     

    Steps To Get an Alaska Life Insurance License

    Obtaining your Alaska life insurance license isn’t difficult. Just follow these five steps to start your journey toward becoming a life insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Alaska property and casualty (P&C) license as well.

     

     

    Step 1: Complete an Alaska Insurance Prelicense Course

    Before you take the Alaska life insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.

    While Alaska doesn’t have any formal pre-license education requirements, most insurance professionals opt to take a pre-license education course online. Others purchase books or self-study materials to prepare themselves for the exam.

    A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that will be tested during the exam. There is very little information on the test that could be considered “common sense”. Prelicense education courses are self-paced and include study materials like practice exams and flashcards.

    Beyond helping you effectively prepare for and pass the life insurance licensing exam on your first try, taking a pre-license education course also will give you a solid understanding of your duties as a life insurance agent.

    Recommended Course

    For Alaska insurance pre-license education courses and exam prep, StateRequirement recommends: ExamFX


    For 10% off, use code examfx@staterequirement.com at checkout! Visit ExamFX

     

    Step 2: Take the Alaska Life Insurance Licensing Exam

    After you complete a prep course and your own independent studying, it’s time to take the Alaska life insurance exam.

    Alaska uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.

    The Alaska life insurance exam outline contains a total of 90 scored questions that includes two sections: general and state-specific. The general section deals with basic life insurance product knowledge. The state section covers state laws, rules, and regulations specific to Alaska.

    You’ll have 135 minutes to complete the examThe Alaska life insurance exam fee is $89, which you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.

    If you happen to fail one section of the Alaska life insurance exam and pass the other, you only need to retake the part you failed. You may refer to the diagnostic section of your score report for information to help you prepare to retake the exam. You must wait at least 24 hours before registering again to take the exam. Your exam results are valid for up to one year from the date of the exam.

    Tip:

    Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.

     

    Step 3: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check

    After you take the Alaska life insurance exam, you must get a fingerprint-based background check from IdentoGO

    The fee for digital fingerprinting is $15 to cover the IdentoGO by IDEMIA service charge for capturing your fingerprints. You will also include a check payable to the Alaska Division of Insurance for $48.25 to cover the cost of the criminal background check with the FBI. The fee total for fingerprinting services is $63.25.

    Anchorage-based applicants can schedule online with Pearson VUE or call 866-761-8069 to get their fingerprinting done at their exam center.

    All other applicants may contact IdentoGO by IDEMIA at 866-761-8069 to request an FBI FD-258 fingerprint card.

    When you complete your fingerprinting appointment, you’ll receive a fingerprint card. Keep your fingerprint card because you’ll need to mail it in at a later step. The required FD-258 card, which Pearson VUE or IdentoGO will send to you, will include a digital version of your fingerprints.

     

    Step 4: Complete an Alaska Life Insurance License Application

    Once you pass the life insurance exam and complete the background check, you can apply for your Alaska life insurance license. The application fee is $75and the NIPR will charge a $5 transaction fee for a total of $80.

    The Alaska Division of Insurance will issue a life insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application to NIPR’s Alaska licensing section within 12 months of passing the exam.

    To apply for a life insurance license in Alaska, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the Alaska Insurance Statutes and Alaska Insurance Administrative Code.

    Send any questions or supporting documents to insurance@alaska.gov.

     

    Step 5: Mail Your Fingerprint Card

    After completing your license application, you will now mail your fingerprint card. You will send this card to the Alaska Division of Insurance’s mailing address:

    Anchorage Mailing/Street Address

    Division of Insurance
    Robert B. Atwood Building
    550 W 7th Ave., Ste. 1560
    Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

    Juneau Mailing Address

    Division of Insurance
    P.O. Box 110805
    Juneau, AK 99811-0805

     

    Step 6: Watch for Your Application Results

    After you complete the previous five steps, the Alaska Division of Insurance will review your application and background check. It reviews filings in the order it receives them, and this process usually takes one or more business days from the date you mail your application.

    Once your application review is complete, the Alaska Division of Insurance will email you with its decision or ask you to provide more information.

    You can print your license from the NIPR website. There’s no charge to create an account or print a license. You can also manage and search for your license by using the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) Alaska Lookup tool.

    Congratulations!

    You’re now ready to get started as a life insurance agent in Alaska.




    Next Steps After Securing Your Alaska Life Insurance License

    Once you complete the above steps and have your Alaska life insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.

    Get Your FINRA Securities Licenses

    Overview

    Individuals planning to market and sell market-based life insurance products also must obtain the proper securities licenses. As a securities license holder, you can offer securities as part of your services. That’ll make you a credible authority in addressing all of your clients’ financial needs.

    To learn more, check out our Securities Licensing guide.

     

     

    SIE Exam

    To obtain these licenses, you’ll first need to take and pass the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) exam. Professionals in the securities industry are required to take the SIE and a series of examinations administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)

    The SIE exam ensures every life insurance professional has a basic understanding of securities. While taking the SIE exam isn’t a requirement for all insurance professionals, those who don’t obtain at least one securities license limit their ability to work with clients. With a securities license, you can give your clients the option to invest in securities-related products as part of their life insurance plans.

    Tip:

    To help you start preparing for the SIE exam, check out our full guide on How to Pass the SIE Exam.

    Obtaining a license to sell securities also requires sponsorship from a firm, company, or organization regulated by FINRA. The sponsor will pay the testing fees required for your SIE exams and submit your personal information to FINRA’s Central Registration Depository (CRD). The Series 6 and Series 7 licenses require a FINRA exam sponsorship before you can take the exam. The exam for a Series 63 license doesn’t require any sponsoring entity. 

    Once you get your securities license(s), FINRA will list you as a “registered representative.” By achieving the securities licensee designation, you’ll become a highly sought-after professional and set yourself up for a successful career in the insurance industry.

     

     

    Series 6, 7, and 63 Licenses

    Some of the most common securities licenses for insurance agents include the Series 6, 7, and 63 licenses because they allow licensees to sell almost every type of individual security.

    The Series 6 (Investment Company and Variable Contracts Products Representative) Securities License is the primary license sought by insurance sales professionals and financial advisors, allowing them to sell grouped securities related to insurance products. 

    Series 6 works together with Series 63 because they are the two partner licenses required to sell insurance policies tied to investments. The North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) oversees regulation of the Series 63 (Uniform Securities Agent State Law) license.

    The Series 7 license allows you to buy and sell securities (e.g., stocks, bonds, and mutual funds) as part of an investment plan for your clients. To get a Series 7 license, you will first need to register as a new candidate with FINRA and pass the Series 7 exam. The Series 7 exam is commonly known as the General Securities Representative Qualification Exam, but is sometimes referred to as the “Series 7 Top-Off Exam.”

     

     

    Get a Job in the Insurance Field

    Once you earn your license, you can start applying for jobs in the insurance field. With a life insurance license, you can provide advice and recommend insurance products to clients, sell life insurance policies that pay a beneficiary upon an insured person’s death, and sell annuities that pay a set income at retirement.

    Find life insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.

    When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN). You can request a letter of certification, which proves you have a life insurance license in Texas, by visiting the Sircon website. You may need to submit this letter along with your job applications. If you do, the cost of requesting a letter of certification is $11 plus any additional, applicable fees.

     

     

    Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License

    In Alaska, if you hold a license for a full two-year period, you are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) to maintain your license in good standing. You must earn your credit hours before your renewal date. Three of those credit hours must focus on ethics while no more than eight hours should focus on management, marketing, sales, and training. To find these courses, visit the NAIC SBS Lookup Search tool, click on Alaska as your jurisdiction, and then select “Course or Provider” as your search type. 

    If you have a non-resident license that meets CE requirements in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Alaska. 

    When you complete an approved course, your course provider will issue you a certificate of completion and report your CE credits to the Alaska Division of Insurance within 10 days of course completion. The NIPR verifies compliance with Alaska’s CE requirement before you can submit your license renewal application. Check Verify My CE to view your CE transcript.

    After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Alaska insurance license online using the NIPR Alaska Renewal SystemThere is a fee of $75 per application to renew your license.

    You also may contact the Alaska Division of Insurance for assistance with submitting a paper application for renewal. There is an additional $50 fee for this service.

    Learn how to renew your license with our Alaska insurance license renewal guide.




    Alaska Department Of Insurance Contact Information

    Mailing Address:

    Anchorage

    Division of Insurance
    Robert B. Atwood Building
    550 W 7th Ave., Ste. 1560
    Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

    Phone: 907-269-7900

    Juneau 

    Alaska Division of Insurance 
    P.O. Box 110805
    Juneau, AK 99811-0805

    Phone: 907-465-2515

    Email: insurance@alaska.gov

    Website: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/ins/

    License Search: Alaska Insurance License Lookup




    Alaska Life Insurance License FAQ

    How much does it cost to get a life insurance license in Alaska?

    Obtaining a life insurance license in Alaska requires these fees: 

     

     

    How long does it take to process a life insurance license application in Alaska?

    This process typically takes one or more business days after your application and requirements have been received.

     

     

    Can I get a temporary life insurance agent license in Alaska?

    Yes. Alaska provides a 90-day, temporary life insurance license.

     

     

    Can I get an emergency life insurance agent license in Alaska?

    No. An emergency license isn’t available for life insurance producers in Alaska.

     

     

    Do I need to get my securities license on top of a life insurance license in Alaska?

    Probably. While you can sell certain basic life insurance products with just a life insurance license, a securities license removes the limits on what you can sell and puts you in a much better career position. As a securities license holder, you can provide your clients with products tied to the securities market as part of their retirement and life insurance plans. But, you’ll need FINRA accreditation to obtain your securities license.

     

     

    What can I sell with a life insurance license in Alaska?

    With an Alaska life insurance license, you can sell life insurance policies that pay a designated beneficiary when the insured person dies. You also can sell annuities that pay a set income at retirement.

     

     

    How much can you make with a life insurance license in Alaska? 

    According to ZipRecruiter, life insurance agents earn an average of $79,730 per year.

     

     

    What are the limitations of an Alaska life insurance license?

    Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products (e.g., the combined life and health insurance license), having an Alaska life insurance license only qualifies you to sell life insurance policies as well as retirement plans and annuities. You can’t sell other types of insurance. A securities license on top of your life insurance license removes that limitation and enables you to offer securities, including stocks and bonds.

     

     

    Can I cancel my life insurance license in Alaska?

    Yes. To cancel your license, download and fill out the Request to Cancel License Form from the Alaska Division of Insurance Licensing Section.

     

     

    How hard is it to get a life insurance license in Alaska?

    The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!




    Ready for more?


    Start Studying

    Learn More




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2021.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More