How to Renew Your Maine Insurance Adjuster License

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

Keeping your Maine adjuster license in good standing with the state is simple. This article gives a step-by-step guide on how to apply for your Maine adjuster license renewal and complete your continuing education requirements in the state of Maine.

How to Renew Your Maine Insurance Adjuster License

Maine adjuster license renewal is perpetual and automatically renew every two years. Licensees must complete continuing education requirements in order to keep their license current. CE credits must be completed by the end of the birth month in an odd or even-numbered year.

If you were born in an even-numbered year, then you will need to complete your CE hours in even numbered years. If you were born in an odd numbered year, then you will need to complete your CE hours in odd numbered years.


If you were born on July 7th, 1986, and got your Maine adjuster license in 2020, your first expiration date would be on July 31st, 2022. After that, your next renewal period would be a full two (2) years, ending on July 31st, 2024.

Follow these simple steps to renew your Maine adjuster license:

Step 1. Complete Your Maine Adjuster Continuing Education

In Maine, you are required to complete a total of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education (CE), including three (3) hours of ethics coursework, to upkeep your adjuster license.

Your continuing education hours are completed by taking adjuster CE courses. These courses are generally held online and taken on a self-paced basis.

Recommended Course

For Maine insurance adjuster continuing education courses, StateRequirement recommends:

4.7 out of 5 starsKaplan Education Company

There are some instances where you may find in-person continuing education courses available, so find what suits you best and get your hours in before your expiration date.

It’s best to finish your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give the CE company time to report your hours to the Maine Department of Insurance.

Most CE providers use your license number and NPN number to automatically report your CE hours to the state. If you take an in-person course or an online class from a lesser-known company, be sure to ask if they report your hours when your course is completed.

If you’re not sure what your license number or NPN number is, use the Maine Insurance License Lookup tool.

Step 2. Apply for Your Maine Adjuster License Renewal

After you have completed your adjuster continuing education, you will renew your Maine adjuster license online through an application on Maine’s Insurance Department website.

There is a fee of $30 to renew your Maine adjuster license.

You are not required to retake the adjuster license exam on renewal, although your continuing education course may require you to take a short knowledge quiz to complete your CE hours.

Renewal After Expiration

If you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, but you haven’t yet renewed, you may still be able to renew. This comes down to how much time has lapsed since your expiration date.

Within 30 Days

If you complete your continuing education and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $30 renewal fee, plus a $45 late penalty fee, for a total of $75 in fees.

Over 30 Days

If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $75 fee.

Maine Adjuster License Continuing Education Requirements

You must complete:

  • Twenty-Four (24) total hours of continuing education
  • Three (3) hours of the total must be in the subject of Ethics

You can find how many hours you have completed using the Maine Adjuster Continuing Education Lookup tool.

All adjuster continuing education must be provided by a state-approved education company. We recommend Kaplan Education Company to help you fulfill your adjuster CE requirements.

Maine Department of Insurance Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Maine Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Bureau of Insurance
#34 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333

Phone: (207) 624-8599



Maine Insurance Adjuster Renewal FAQ

How do I renew my insurance adjuster license?

All states regulate licensing for all insurance adjusters and insurance agents. The requirements for each state vary, but they have similar steps and processes that apply to all adjusters (whether you’re working as an independent adjuster, public adjuster, or are employed by an insurance company). See the steps above for a detailed adjuster license renewal process in your state.

Do insurance adjuster licenses expire?

Yes. The deadline for renewal varies by state. So it’s best to know your state’s requirements, such as completing your continuing education (CE) courses and when to pay your renewal fees, to ensure your license remains valid.

How much does it cost to renew my insurance adjuster license?

Maine will charge a fee to renew your insurance adjuster license. The renewal fee is $30. You can pay renewal fees online via credit or debit card using the state’s renewal service, or by mail via check or money order.

What states have reciprocity for adjuster license?

Once you complete your initial adjuster license requirements, you can apply for reciprocity in other states. In insurance licensing, this is a common move since you may also need to work out-of-state. However, you still need to follow your state’s adjuster license renewal guideline in Maine. Many states that offer reciprocity will accept CE and renewal documents from your licensing state without requiring additional licensing documentation or fees.

Do I need to take an exam to renew my adjuster license?

You only need to pass the insurance adjuster exam as a pre-licensing requirement. To renew your adjuster license, you will need to take CE courses and pay renewal fees as required by Maine.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More