How to Renew Your Florida Insurance Adjuster License

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

How to Renew Your Florida Insurance Adjuster License

Keeping your Florida adjuster license in good standing with the state is simple. This article gives a step-by-step guide on how to apply for your Florida adjuster license renewal and complete your continuing education requirements in the state of Florida.

How to Renew Your Florida Insurance Adjuster License

Florida adjuster license renewal is perpetual and never expires. License holders must take continuing education classes every two years in order to keep their license current.

The two-year period starts the year the initial insurance license was issued on the last day of your birth month.


If you got your Florida adjuster license on July 27, 2019, your first expiration date would be on July 31st, 2021. After that, your next renewal period would be a full two (2) years, ending on July 31st, 2023.

Follow these simple steps to renew your Florida adjuster license:

Step 1. Complete Your Florida Adjuster Continuing Education

In Florida, you are required to complete a total of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education (CE), including five (5) hours of Florida Law and Ethics coursework, to upkeep your adjuster license.

Your continuing education hours are completed by taking adjuster CE courses. These courses are generally held online and taken on a self-paced basis.

Recommended Course

For Florida insurance adjuster continuing education courses, StateRequirement recommends:

4.7 out of 5 starsKaplan Education Company

There are some instances where you may find in-person continuing education courses available, so find what suits you best and get your hours in before your expiration date.

It’s best to finish your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give the CE company time to report your hours to the Florida Department of Insurance.

Most CE providers use your license number and NPN number to automatically report your CE hours to the state. If you take an in-person course or an online class from a lesser-known company, be sure to ask if they report your hours when your course is completed.

If you’re not sure what your license number or NPN number is, use the Florida Insurance License Lookup tool.

Step 2. Apply for your Florida Adjuster License Renewal

While there is no need to renew an insurance license in Florida, you do need to keep your license current with continuing education credits. It’s required to take courses that are specifically approved for Florida insurance adjuster.

There is no fee or paperwork required to renew your license after you complete your required CE hours.

You are not required to retake the adjuster license exam on renewal, although your continuing education course may require you to take a short knowledge quiz to complete your CE hours.

Renewal After Expiration

If you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, but you haven’t yet renewed, you may still be able to renew. This comes down to how much time has lapsed since your expiration date.

Within 30 Days

If you complete your continuing education and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $20 per appointment fee.

Over 30 Days

If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $250 fee.

Florida Adjuster License Continuing Education Requirements

You must complete:

  • Twenty-Four (24) total hours of continuing education
  • Five (5) hours of the total must be in the subject of Florida Law and Ethics

You can find how many hours you have completed using the Florida Adjuster Continuing Education Lookup tool.

All adjuster continuing education must be provided by a state-approved education company. We recommend Kaplan Education Company to help you fulfill your adjuster CE requirements.

Florida Department of Insurance Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Insurance Agent and Agency Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Phone: (850) 413-3137



Florida Insurance Adjuster Renewal FAQ

How do I renew my insurance adjuster license?

All states regulate licensing for all insurance adjusters and insurance agents. The requirements for each state vary, but they have similar steps and processes that apply to all adjusters (whether you’re working as an independent adjuster, public adjuster, or are employed by an insurance company). See the steps above for a detailed adjuster license renewal process in your state.

Do insurance adjuster licenses expire?

Yes. The deadline for renewal varies by state. So it’s best to know your state’s requirements, such as completing your continuing education (CE) courses and when to pay your renewal fees, to ensure your license remains valid.

How much does it cost to renew my insurance adjuster license?

Florida does not charge to renew your insurance adjuster license.

What states have reciprocity for adjuster license?

Once you complete your initial adjuster license requirements, you can apply for reciprocity in other states. In insurance licensing, this is a common move since you may also need to work out-of-state. However, you still need to follow your state’s adjuster license renewal guideline in Florida. Many states that offer reciprocity will accept CE and renewal documents from your licensing state without requiring additional licensing documentation or fees.

Do I need to take an exam to renew my adjuster license?

You only need to pass the insurance adjuster exam as a pre-licensing requirement. To renew your adjuster license, you will need to take CE courses and pay renewal fees as required by Florida.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More